1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

German Panzer Urban Camo Conversion

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unit Graphics' started by Fëanor, Nov 4, 2005.

  1. Fëanor

    Fëanor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,626
    Location:
    Nirvana
    Urban Camo Color Conversion of the German Panzer



     
  2. Vietcong

    Vietcong Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Texas
    cool, what program do u use to akin the models??

    allso, whear can i get something to make 3d moddels for new units?
     
  3. Paasky

    Paasky Good News Everyone!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    Vantaa, Finland
    The first unit to enter WWII Europe SF&B! :clap:
    Looks great :goodjob:
     
  4. Fëanor

    Fëanor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,626
    Location:
    Nirvana
    @Vietcong, well i dont thruly Skin the models, i merely convert the colors and apply a pattern.

    I use FCheck (an utility that came with Alias 7.0) to convert them and Adobe Photoshop 8.0 to edit them

    @Paasky, i'm honored, your scenario was, along with Twilight of North america, by far my favourite :)
     
  5. Paasky

    Paasky Good News Everyone!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    Vantaa, Finland
    Well, in that case, would you mind doing a bit more skinning? The game currently only has 2 tank models, but I'm going to put manymany different tanks. And as no-one can do any units yet, and it will propably be a while until they start to come out. So in between, I need re-skinned Shermans & Panthers to be the French, German, British, Polish, Soviet, Italian & US tanks. Same thing with aircraft, maybe even infantry. Interested?
     
  6. Fëanor

    Fëanor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,626
    Location:
    Nirvana
    :) i just finished a BF109 reskinning so i guess you got a deal ;)
     
  7. Tommy1234567890

    Tommy1234567890 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Argentina
    how the do you add units to civ 4??????????
     
  8. Paasky

    Paasky Good News Everyone!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    Vantaa, Finland
    :rolleyes:

    a) This isn't a new unit, just a reskin
    b) You could've made the question in a better way

    Don't know if it has to added into the scenario (like civ3) or if adding it into the xml is enough.
    If you want to know, just start studying anything relevant inside the assets\xml folder, but remember to save anything edited either into customassests\xml or mods\modname.
     
  9. ejdacanay

    ejdacanay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    is that free? and what are alternatives for this?
     
  10. Paasky

    Paasky Good News Everyone!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    Vantaa, Finland
    Alternatives:
    Free:
    GIMP
    Lot's of others, don't know them by name, maybe even Irfanview (it can open .dds files)
    Commercial:
    Jasc Paintshop Pro
    Adobe Photoshop
    Again, lot's of others too, don't know them by name.
     
  11. Distraction

    Distraction Now 50% less explodie!

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Well, I have a wierd problem...

    First off, there is nothing wrong with the skin. When it's selected, the camo is perfect. it really looks great. The problem is that when the Panzer isn't selected, it reverts to its original camo. It's really wierd...
     
  12. GoldEagle

    GoldEagle Deity of All Drummers

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    804
    Location:
    Florida's Space Coast
    Sweeeeeeeet 8)
     
  13. Tommy1234567890

    Tommy1234567890 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Argentina
    i think this shouldn't be called urban it should be called realistic because in WWII they were really gray. With the exception of winter.
     
  14. CrazyAce

    CrazyAce Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    I'm here, soon to be there.
    Will you quit :bump: threads, I thought this was a new unit I was getting so excited to... Not that I'm saying any thing bad, in fact I like this unt and do use it. Well enough of my :nospam:
     
  15. Tommy1234567890

    Tommy1234567890 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Argentina
    @ crazy ace: are you mad at me ???:(
     
  16. CrazyAce

    CrazyAce Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    I'm here, soon to be there.
    No I'm not mad I just got excited thinking this was a new unit...
     
  17. ggganz

    ggganz a.k.a. The Scyphozoa

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,485
    Location:
    Sector 5
    :goodjob: Love the skin, but I need some :help:. Please make a button for this. I don't have any tools for it and I can't have the skin without the button. But seriously, I :worship: your skin. It's making me :yumyum:. Please don't make me wait until I look like this guy...


    :old:



    ...with friends like these.


    :old::old::old::old::old:
    EDIT:O.K. I did download, but I would like a button.


    P.S. Pardon the obsession with :)'s. I'm new and very exited.
     
  18. Fëanor

    Fëanor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,626
    Location:
    Nirvana
    ok, i understeand that my conversion is incredibly awsome but you really should not bump such old threads...

    I have no idea of what you mean by "a Button"

    Anyway, welcome to civfanatics

    Edit: Ok beat me silly for being an idiot, his post is almost a month old (but he PM'ed me a link today)
     
  19. Hardner

    Hardner Blitzkrieger

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    202
    Gender:
    Male
    This is funny and a really really old thread...anyways just use the vanilla button, make the yellow panzer on it somehow grey and you'll have a perfect button for this unit.
     
  20. ggganz

    ggganz a.k.a. The Scyphozoa

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,485
    Location:
    Sector 5
    Where is the vanilla button?
     

Share This Page