German UA question

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by redwings1340, Nov 16, 2013.

  1. redwings1340

    redwings1340 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,408
    Location:
    Maryland
    Does the German UA not take effect until you settle your capital?

    I'm trying to do the "Play as Germany and delete your starting settler" challenge, but so far I am 0/6 on barbarian conversions. Have I just been ridiculously unlucky, or is there something I'm missing here that makes this challenge actually impossible?
     
  2. redwings1340

    redwings1340 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,408
    Location:
    Maryland
    Oh, I missed the "inside an encampment" description. This challenge suddenly got a lot tougher, lol.
     
  3. DWilson

    DWilson Where am I? What turn is it?

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, USA
    I wish there was a way I could try this as the ottomans, but's it's kinda hard to kill that first trireme with only a warrior :/
     
  4. FeiLing

    FeiLing Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,080
    deleting the settler is bad. if it is allowed to keep it just not settling a city of your own, you can use it lure out a barb from a camp which gives your warrior the chance to capture the first camp without resistance.
     
  5. redwings1340

    redwings1340 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,408
    Location:
    Maryland
    I was using the settler to explore and find ruins for when I was planning to eventually take a city by force. Your strategy won't work though, because the UA is only for barbarian units inside encampments, so it won't work with undefended encampments.
     
  6. GoStu

    GoStu King

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    656
    Location:
    Calgary
    No, you can gain a unit from an empty encampment. It happens a lot when you've got Ranged units emptying the camp first.
     
  7. sendos

    sendos Immortal

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,455
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Yes, I can confirm this.

    As for the challenge, in fairness, you should do that challenge on warlord level or something: at the easiest possible difficulty but the ruins don't give you free worker or settler. That way, the combat bonus against barbs is higher (at 50% on warlord) and you would have a better chance of completing the challenge. Then, hopefully grab a weapon upgrade and culture ruin to grab honor opener. Doing this challenge on deity, let alone with raging barbs, is simply improbable, bordering on impossible.
     
  8. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    I need to find an excuse to get the achievements for winning on the easiest difficulties (I think I managed to Warlord already with something, unfortunately, so I'll have to take the risk of a free settler).

    Do you have to turn on complete kills in order to disband your settler at the beginning?
     
  9. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    So I just tried this. I conquered the Byzantines (Eastern Roman Empire) starting with the Battle of Adrianople to make that my capital (nice and appropriate).

    After that, though, I wasn't really sure if I saw the point of continuing to victory.
     
  10. GoStu

    GoStu King

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    656
    Location:
    Calgary
    If I can make a request? Go all the way for a Domination victory. I'd be interested to know if it's possible to win if Berlin is never actually founded...
     
  11. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    Well, I didn't quite follow that rule. I still had my settler (or more accurately, I got it back from a barbarian), so I settled it. So I had Berlin, but it wasn't my capital - Adrianople was (even though it had my palace, I still had to build a courthouse).

    So I'm sure it would have been possible, but I didn't literally do it. Hell, if you do a duel map, you can probably win by only conquering their capital and never having a city before that point.
     
  12. limluigi

    limluigi Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    +1 confirm. But there is a catch though. If the previous defender of the encampment just went out of the encampment for a while, maybe to kill one of your units or capture settlers/workers, and then you captured the encampment, you won't be able to trigger the UA. I had this happen to me 4 times, so maybe it's just RNG at work.
     
  13. arand86

    arand86 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    278
    It's actually pretty difficult on Warlord. You're down like 50 turns by the time you amass 3-4 ish warriors, and it's impossible to take a capital with just 3-4 warriors, so you have to settle for a small 1-2 pop city without a palace, which takes a long time to get off the ground.
     
  14. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    You do get a palace as soon as you take the city, fwiw.

    You probably want to use a slower game speed, which will help your UA be more valuable.
     
  15. arand86

    arand86 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    278
    Huh. Didn't know that.
     
  16. Walter R

    Walter R Great Engineer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    713
    Location:
    England
    I remember taking Gao once playing as Germany, just with warriors/brutes - but it was pretty bloody and I'm sure I lost several before I managed it. Also it was in Vanilla I think. Anyway, I wasn't doing this challenge, I just had a lot of barbs to deal with - and the army upkeep was a killer so I didn't care that they were getting killed.
     
  17. Sturmgewher88mm

    Sturmgewher88mm Kaiser

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    388
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    石川琉球
    Hehe I love how "play as a barbarian" is starting to spread :D
     
  18. JimBobV

    JimBobV Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    It is very fun. I almost finished the challenge on warlord difficulty, marathon, but after destroying 2 of the three civs I was playing with,(I was on a duel sized map but with the extra AIs)my remaining forces were easily crushed by alexander and some of his companion cavalry. It was depressing.
     
  19. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    Interestingly, you don't pay army upkeep until your first city.
     
  20. Walter R

    Walter R Great Engineer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    713
    Location:
    England
    I didn't know that, probably because I've never gone more than 2 turns without founding. But it makes that challenge more do-able then
     

Share This Page