Getting a New Computer (What should I look For?)

Book Budda

Industrial Athelete
Hi Im getting a new computer or laptop and I would like to be able to play Civ IV (all expansion packs), Civ IV Col., and Civ III, as well as a few more games. I have only had one computer (an E-machine) and have had bad experiences with it :wallbash: . I am not really good with computers and I was wondering what would you guys recomend I get in terms of Brand, Ram, memory, cost...

Thanks for any suggestions.

Are you buying prebuilt or going to take the plunge and build one? What are you willing to spend?

First, some basics. For modern software, and upcoming software, you are going to need at least a dual core processor, 2 gigs of RAM, probably 500 gigs of hard drive space, a DVD drive, 550 watts or better of a power supply, and a graphics card that probably has at least 500mb to 1 gig of on board memory and says it is compatible with gaming. That's your basic specs if you are buying a prebuilt PC. Don't settle for less. You can probably get that much for $800-1000. What you can get above and beyond that depends on what you are willing to spend.

Other people can do a better job than I can of recommend specific pieces of hardware if you are building. But if you can ballpark what you will spend, we can help you design something.

Thanks for the reply, I plan on buying a prebuilt one (I don't know enough about computers yet to make one). I have a rough estimate of what I am willing to pay, I have $800 dollars set aside in the bank and I can add a pay check or two in there.

I am willing to spend about $1000 dollars and add two or three hundred dollars if necessary but no more than that.

ok. do you need a monitor, keyboard, mouse, or can you reuse your peripherals? Do you need something with an OS installed?