1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Getting Started

Discussion in 'Communitas Expansion Pack' started by Thalassicus, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas

    Communitas is a community-made expansion pack for Civilization V. We started this project because we believe Civilization is a fantastic game, and we want to perfect it while remaining as close to the core experience as possible.

    Visit communitas.wikia.com to learn more about the project.

    Click to install the expansion.

    Post in the forum if you have any comments, suggestions, or questions.

    Click here if you encounter any problems while playing the expansion.
     
  2. Necro-

    Necro- Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    while this is great it runs into a few problems, mainly updates, i mean if people know how to mix and match xml files they don't need your combined pack, and if they don't you'll need to do constant revisions.

    secondly imho, this is missing the "big" revision mods suck as valk's economy mod or ice's strategic tile changes.
     
  3. JDexter

    JDexter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    565
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    This is simply the collection of Thalassicus' own small mods, not of balance mods per se.
     
  4. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Just what JDexter said. I'm including links here for reference, and the file is for those who are currently unable to download them ingame due to (soon to be fixed) mod browser bugs.
     
  5. wapamingo

    wapamingo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    399
    I installed all the separate mods, but my question I suppose is in general. If you come up with a new version of the mod, is it automatically updated though steam when you publish it?
     
  6. mattpilot

    mattpilot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Thanks thal for posting a seperate download link... very much appreciated!
     
  7. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    @mattpilot
    Of course, no problem!

    @wapamingo
    I believe so, though it's difficult for me to verify on my own (since I can't simultaneously experience both uploading and downloading the same mod). I did see Kael say something to that effect in his Celtic mod thread. I've asked your question on one of the stickies on the main modding forum, and will try and get you a definite answer.

    I did experiment with some of the mod options yesterday that might have accidentally broken any automatic updates (tested the effect of changing the Mod ID), so it wouldn't hurt to download here or check online for the latest versions of the mods this one time. I didn't know about the update service until I read Kael's post earlier today.
     
  8. The Boz

    The Boz Nooblet

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    I am currently giving the mod(s) a whirl. It seems to be working great. My only mistake was selecting Babylon as my civ, so I started in the desert. Seven cities later, I'm still in the desert :p
    Anyway, I always micro my workers, and I find myself actually reading and comparing each possible improvement. And I actually used my first three Great Scientists for academies. So far, it all seems to be very nice, so good job! High marks!
    I would love it if you could do something similar to the epic/marathon building/research rebalance mods that are currently out there. Lowering building hammer costs while slightly increasing research costs, or maybe just increasing the number of hammers in a city/windmill/workshop/plant. None of the mods of that kind that I have so far come across fit me just right, if you know what I'm saying, so I'd like to see your take on it.
     
  9. Gorey

    Gorey Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA.
    can you please post the changes you make between versions?

    I'm having a hard time keeping up with it. Everytime i launch Civ there's new versions. There's no info on whats different than the version i already have. I like knowing what to expect.

    And no, it does not auto-update. It shows up as an uninstalled mod. Basically when you browse the mods list in-game and it doesn't say "Already Installed" it's a new version. If you want it, you have to remove the one already installed then download and install the new one.
     
  10. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    @TheBoz
    Sure, I'll think about it a while and see if I come up with anything.

    @Gorey
    I apologize for the confusion, I'm a perfectionist and tend to revise things until it's just right.

    The majority of version increases have simply been me learning how the mod posting system works and revising the presentation of the mods. I've been updating the descriptions to be more concise, use bullet points, icons, that sort of thing. On the threads here on Civfanatics for individual mod components, when I make any actual gameplay changes to that component, I indicate those changes on a version history on the page.

    For example, on the Greater Improvements page I indicated the gameplay changes in the version history spoiler:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=385262

    For consistency, I will do this for each component page. Thank you for the feedback!
     
  11. Gorey

    Gorey Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA.
    You dont have to apologize to me.. im cursed with it too. :lol:
     
  12. Iceman68

    Iceman68 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Northallerton, North Yorkshire
    I get the following message when trying to download this:

    Invalid Attachment specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator
     
  13. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Try it again, I just updated so there might have been a slight delay, or you might have attempted to download during the interim period where I'd deleted the previous version.
     
  14. Iceman68

    Iceman68 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Northallerton, North Yorkshire
    Worked this time.

    Just my luck to try downloading as it was being updated.
     
  15. MasterDinadan

    MasterDinadan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Thanks for uploading this as a zip! I can never get the mod browser to work... Any time I try to search or filter the results, the browser breaks and nothing short of restarting the game will fix it.
     
  16. Gorey

    Gorey Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA.
    The Balance - Farms link goes to the the wrong thread.
     
  17. Rinus4

    Rinus4 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Gonna give this one a try :D
     
  18. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    @Gorey
    Thank you for catching that, I've updated the link.

    After playing through a few games with the Mine & Lumbermill adjustment, I've found this achieves the desired effect. Just a few of either tile can make a city quite productive, letting you actually build things before they go obsolete. I do like the idea of a workshop, but there's several other people working on a mod to add workshops, so I don't want to interfere.
     
  19. nemini

    nemini Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    The current .ZIP file lists "Farms (v2)", while the old one listed "Farms (v4)", was this an intentional rollback to a previous version?
     
  20. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas

Share This Page