1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Gigantic UI?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Tamed, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Tamed

    Tamed Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Is there a way to size this down? Even "small scale UI" is absolutely huge and interferes with looking at the game.
     
  2. Giant Dwarf

    Giant Dwarf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Chicago
    What's your screen resolution? And did you restart after makig changes?
     
  3. Tamed

    Tamed Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    1920x1200, yes, it's just huge. It takes up atleast 25% of the entire screen.
     
  4. Lord Tirian

    Lord Tirian Erratic Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,724
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    ...the one thing that really bothers me is the sheer size of the minimap. Not really mini. The rest appears to be fine, as far as I can tell.

    Cheers, LT.
     
  5. Tamed

    Tamed Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Exactly, the minimap is gigantic, too!
     
  6. Perfection

    Perfection The Great Head.

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    49,789
    Location:
    Salisbury Plain
    IIRC from the manual (I'm still installing Civ V) there's an option to force small UI.

    I'm actually glad for the large UI, because I'm running a 1080p 15.6" laptop.
     
  7. motor_ola

    motor_ola Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Go into the interface options, turn off automatic UI scaling, and force it to use the small version.
     
  8. Roland Ehnström

    Roland Ehnström Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Norrtälje, Sweden
    Look in the Interface options, you can set the interface to "small size", maybe this helps.
     
  9. wingsoverithaca

    wingsoverithaca Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    bbqsauce
    that option doesnt seem to change much if at all
     
  10. Tamed

    Tamed Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Going to have to agree with this.. it doesn't change it hardly.
     
  11. TheMystic

    TheMystic Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    Can you post a screenshot?
     
  12. motor_ola

    motor_ola Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Here are screenshots of both small and large, the difference is indeed tiny. I think it's an ok size for me, but I wouldn't want to play it in a resolution lower than my 1920x1200.

    Another odd thing i noticed when flipping between the images is that all the terrain elements seem to get a new randomized appearance every time you load the save. Makes sense from a save optimization point, but a little weird. I assume if you're playing a MP game, the world will look slightly different for each player as well.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Maniacal

    Maniacal the green Napoleon

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18,778
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    The UI really doesn't take up much of the screen in those pictures... though what is odd is the terrain changes in the background. One coastline recedes and one hill flattens wtf?
     
  14. Buccaneer

    Buccaneer Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,562
    "Use Small Interface" has been reported in the Bugs forum. They should bring back the CTRL-I, imo.
     
  15. motor_ola

    motor_ola Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    So it's supposed to change more than this?
     
  16. Buccaneer

    Buccaneer Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,562
    I hope so because the interface did not change.
     
  17. Buccaneer

    Buccaneer Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,562
    Here's an example of bad the UI is and how it covers the screen. There is too much wasted space with all of the boxes and black areas. The same information can easily be shown with taking up so much of the screen.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. starrywisdom

    starrywisdom Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    I had that issue, until I 'fixed' my resolution - bumping it up to 19xxX12xx I think it was made it very much greater indeed. I originally tried at the minimum(why it defaulted their is beyond me) and it was atrocious. In fact I think that's the same resolution as that screen shot - try uping your resolution, it makes the game and UI much much more enjoyable.

    The lower the resolution you play on, of course the UI is going to be bigger - it's just like placing a lower resolution on your desktop(your icons get larger - so you see less of your desktop background). If the UI is too big for you increase your resolution.
     
  19. jtwood

    jtwood Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    that's what i'm dealing with, too
     
  20. Kruelgor

    Kruelgor Emperor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,165
    Location:
    The United States
    Strange, the setting option to change it to small is fogged out and I can't change the UI to small.


    edit: Oh, can't do it while in game. Have to do it from main menu.
     

Share This Page