1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Glitch regarding movement?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by Immortal Ace, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. Immortal Ace

    Immortal Ace Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Using China, I couldn't march into Indochina and conquer the lands where Burman, Vietnam, Laos, Thailand, etc. would be at. I was in the area which is below modern day Tibet and couldn't march across the jungle into the city of Hanoi.

    What gives? There were no mountains blocking the area.
     
  2. NitroJay

    NitroJay Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Tecumseh, MI
    Only certain units can pass through jungle... War Elephants can! :)
     
  3. Immortal Ace

    Immortal Ace Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    So there's a restriction on moving through Jungle?
     
  4. TheAmerican

    TheAmerican Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Yes, but if you construct a road on the jungle, any unit can pass. However, you can't travel enemy roads in jungles.
     
  5. Mowque

    Mowque Hypermodernist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,129
    Location:
    Mating With Your Queen
    suprised me to!
     
  6. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,041
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Really? I my latest China game it wasn´t like that... :(
     
  7. McA123

    McA123 Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    NS, Canada
    Has to be in your cultural borders or the unit in question has to be able to enter jungles. Otherwise, no go.
     
  8. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,041
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    In my game my swordsman couldn´t travel trough jungles that were in my territory and had roads... Is that ok?
     
  9. NitroJay

    NitroJay Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Tecumseh, MI
    I think that the road-through-the-jungle-in-your-borders was taken out. I remember in earlier versions of vanilla it was possible, but playing as India recently, I know that it isn't true anymore. Only units like scouts, workers, and war elephants can pass through jungle, period.
     
  10. hamtastic

    hamtastic Hamburglar

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    On this topic, what's the prereq for chopping jungle in RFC again? I forgot, but I think I found a bug in it. :blush:
     
  11. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,041
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    I think it´s medicine, IIRC.
     
  12. NitroJay

    NitroJay Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Tecumseh, MI
    I thought it was still biology...
     
  13. garrinchaya

    garrinchaya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Lost in Paris, France
    The thread reminds me something weird I've noticed as India in a previous game.
    I didn't have yet biology, but as soon as I've discovered calendar, I was able to build plantations in a jungle and by this way clearing it up.

    I think that's a bug, as you can very quickly clear a road to China even without biology. The only problem if we fix it is that all those resources in South-East Asia will be utterly useless along the 9/10th of the game.
     
  14. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,041
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Maybe I didn´t recall correctly ;)
     
  15. NitroJay

    NitroJay Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Tecumseh, MI
    Building the plantations (and mines) in jungle was something that was added a while ago. Many of the dye and gems are in jungles and you are able to build plantaions/mines on them with calendar, even though you can't chop jungle until biology.
     

Share This Page