Going Wide on Deity: A Discussion

Light Cleric

ElCee/LC/El Cid
So I've had a nice chunk of free time the past week(I work in IT at a university and the students are gone for summer, woo :p) and have been able to play quite a number of Deity games with several civs, and set aside certain starts instead of playing them in case they look LP worthy. In the ones I did play, though, I found an overwhelming theme, and that's going wide was a horrible idea on the overwhelming majority of Deity maps.

The reason I discuss Deity specifically is because of one very important factor that the other difficulty levels don't have. On Deity, the AI starts with 2 Settlers instead of one. This immediately cuts the amount of available land down by a huuuuuuuge amount.

These are the civs I've found some benefit to going wide with.
-Maya/Ethiopia/The Celts, the "religious" civs.
-Rome
-France
-Byzantium - more Shrines for religion. Technically, this could apply to any civ, but Byzantium's UA makes it much more worthwhile to "chase" the 4th/5th religion which can still be amazing for them with 2 enhancers but could really suck for another civ.
-The Netherlands(they can get out quick and preserve happiness; 2-3 pop satellite cities are waaaay better than 1 pop ones)
-Carthage(on water maps, free Harbor = free Trade route and easy triggering of Meritocracy)
-Arabia(situational. I don't need 18 Copper thank you)

Note that wide = Liberty but Liberty does not always equal wide. For example Monty can murder barbs to shave several turns off of Collective Rule, but going wide is not always a great idea compared to abusing Floating Gardens in a tall game. Darius renames Representation to Immortal Steamroller, which can make Liberty worth taking even if you stay smallish.