Gold inflation

balparmak

Prince
Well there isn't much to say, abundance of late-game gold is obvious. Let's hear your opinions, do we need to reduce gold generation, increase costs, or both? Screenshots showing economy overview appreciated

Last edited:
Took a quick look at my gold in a current game

Carthage, Tradition -> Artistry
4 Cities, Renaissance Era

I have 368 gold per turn.
340 produced by cities
16 from city-states
38 produced by trade routes (I am Carthage, but of my 6 trade routes, 4 are internal)
302 from deals with other civilizations

Here I'm working 5 total villages, 2 towns, and have 0 gold from religion. I'm in a golden age and I've themed the Globe Theater (10 gold), otherwise I can't think of any unusual gold sources, 4 markets but only 1 bank at the moment, 1 customs house, 0 caravansaries.

A look at sources that seem unusually large:
Unhappy AI will give me 30+ gold for a luxury. This is where most of 'deals with other civilizations' comes from.
Chanceries are producing 7 gold each (this is counted in city yields, not 'from city states')

If people want to trim gold, I'd start with chanceries

Given how ready AI is to spend heaping sums on WLTKDs, it seems like gold generation is definitely to blame. The AI seems to just end up with so much (whether that's from general GPT or difficulty bonuses) that it doesn't mind spending a ton on resources, even quite early in the game.

As for possible solutions, I think increasing costs is a good direction. More maintenance for buildings, especially niche ones that work much better if you build synergistic buildings (something like how Arena (I think?) gives production to several other buildings). Or maybe making Investing scale with the number of investments in the city? Sort of like how Wonders cost more the more you've built, the gold cost for investing multiple buildings in a city would go up. Maybe following a similar un-scaling by era.