Golden age help!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Barbarella, Jun 1, 2010.

  1. Barbarella

    Barbarella Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Hi everyone,

    Am new to this forum but very excited to find it and hoping someone will be able to help me with a couple of problems i'm having with the game.

    I've been playing Civ IV and finding it impossible to start a golden age, no matter how many special people i assign to a city. I'm playing on the prince level at the moment and finding that i'll be doing relatively well until the AIs start having their golden ages, at which point i get left in the dust. I've tried loads of things, including emphasising great person etc, but for some reason when i click on 'start golden' age it tells me i need one more famous person, but as i said, not matter how many i have i still can to do it. help! :confused:

    cheers, B
     
  2. Brownsfan02

    Brownsfan02 WWII Buff

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    just get a great person and hit the gold disc, if you need 2 then the first one just them sleep then get another and the gold disc should be lit up
     
  3. Bushface

    Bushface Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Torquay, England
    Great Generals and Great Persons you have settled (i.e. you can't now move them) do not count.
    First GA uses 1 Great Person.
    Second GA needs two, of different types.
    Third needs three, all different.
    Etc.
     
  4. Barbarella

    Barbarella Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    ah, so if i hit sleep when a great person comes up i can use him later to start a golden age (if i need more than one)? great, will go and try that now, thanks!
     
  5. Barbarella

    Barbarella Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    hm, still no joy. had two great people but the gold disc still came up with 'requires two famous people'. do you think it could be a glitch?
     
  6. ParadigmShifter

    ParadigmShifter Random Nonsense Generator

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,810
    Location:
    Liverpool, home of Everton FC
    They need to be different types of GP. (Great Generals can't start GAs either).

    Your first post sounds like you are settling your GPs in a city with the "Join City as a Super Specialist" or whatever it is called - if you do that they aren't available to start GAs.
     
  7. Barbarella

    Barbarella Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    so if i can't settle them in the cities where that flashes up, what kind of cities can i settle them in?!
     
  8. cherrysnowdrop

    cherrysnowdrop Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Someplace with connection
    You don't settle them at all. If you want to use your GP for Golden Ages, you shouldn't do anything with them, just wait until you have the required number of them. So no assigning, no building academies, ect. It's hard for me not to settle them once they come, but what can you do. :crazyeye:
     
  9. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    If you want a golden age, you can't settle them at all. The two uses are mutually exclusive.

    For the most part a great person can do ONE thing: settle in a city OR start a golden age OR bulb a tech OR etc. Once you have done one of these things, it can't do anything else (after using them, the great person unit doesn't exist anymore anyway - if you settle them it is now visible in the city screen down by the specialists, but it doesn't exist as a unit on the map anymore).

    To get the golden age, keep the great person unit. Do nothing with them until you have 2 that are of different types (if the second one you get is the same type as the first, you can use them for something if you want, or you can save it to use for your 2nd golden age - although that may be an inefficint use of great people). Once you have 2 of different types, the "start a golden age" button will work.

    By the way - in BtS, after some patch (3.17 or 3.19 I think) your first golden age can be started with just 1 great person.
     
  10. Barbarella

    Barbarella Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    ok, off again - thanks everyone, and will report back
     
  11. TheDS

    TheDS Regular Riot

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,454
    Location:
    Daytona Beach
    You are hereby authorized to hover over the buttons that show up and read the pop-up help text. Sorry you didn't get that memo before now.
     

Share This Page