1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

got a quick question about puppets?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by cman2010, Nov 20, 2010.

  1. cman2010

    cman2010 King

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    740
    I was playing last night and when I went to change the city focus for my puppets it would not let me switch off of gold focus to science, I could have sworn I have switched from something to gold but I have never tried science is this not posiable? or is my game buged?
     
  2. elthrasher

    elthrasher Revcaster

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Puppets always have the gold focus. You can't change it.
     
  3. cman2010

    cman2010 King

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    740
    well thats kind of a bum deal, I guess I just never noticed as gold is usualy fine.
     
  4. Yzman

    Yzman Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,692
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    The whole point of puppets is that you aren't supposed to be able to control anything about them.
     
  5. Darwin's Bulldo

    Darwin's Bulldo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Which is odd since a real puppet doesn't do anything without your control. CiV: WTF?
     
  6. MadRat

    MadRat Cheese Raider

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    598
    Location:
    Under the sink
    They produce gold as otherwise they would be major parasites. They build so much junk you never use but YOU still have to pay for it all. Thus they build gold so it offsets some of that cost. Personally I try to avoid conquering (hello raze!!) huge built up cities as in many cases they just drive my accountants to drink. For example a late game city will have dozens of buildings but when you conquer it its pop drops by at least 50% and there is NO WAY they can pay for all that Puppet or not.

    Rat
     
  7. Silvis

    Silvis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Florida
    Wow, I didn't know they always have a gold focus. That actually explains a lot. Thanks for the heads up people!
     
  8. stormerne

    stormerne is just a Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3,428
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    the United States
    You can't change a puppet to science focus, but you can farm all their land, remove their trading posts and force them to grow. However, you won't force them to put specialists in their libraries. Either that or bear the unhappiness and annex them. Or even better, ignore them and go ally with lots of city states along with Scholasticism.
     

Share This Page