1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Got inundatd with Barbarians!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by JBryan314, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. JBryan314

    JBryan314 Always Watching

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Korea
    I just thought of something I was very curious about recently... I am still newer, but when I was more new I played a game with me vs 10 other AI opponents. This was the first time I'd played against so many, so I was going to test myself. All of a sudden, very early on, Barbarians started coming in waves. Tons of them. I couldn't grow my city or expand much at all because I was literally fighting Barbarians every turn. EVERY turn. Axemen against my archers, mostly. This went on for a long time, until I realized that I was already too far behind the AI civs to catch up so I retired and went back to my games of me vs 4 or 5 AI opponents. Was this just a freak occurrence? It hasn't happened again since then, and I've played other me vs 10 games. I used my scouts to search for Barbarian cities but never found one. It seemed like they just continuously spawned around my borders and attacked. The other civs weren't getting attacked. It was kind of fun for a while, but then it went on for so long and I wasn't making any progress.
     
  2. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    18,815
    Sounds like you may have had Raging Barbs checked for that game, by accident. I accidentally check options under Custom Games that I don't realize until afterwards, or they are left over from a prior setup like with HOF games.

    With that said, barb intensity can also be a factor of the map and amount of open land around you. It always good to setup a spawnbust pattern around your empire with warriors, although that can still have a limited affect with Raging Barbs on. Great Wall is best for that option.
     
  3. JBryan314

    JBryan314 Always Watching

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Korea
    Just noticed I misspelled a word in the title. Crap. Whatever. Anyway, it was really weird. I was surrounded by civs, the Chinese to the East were fairly close to me and the barbarians would have actually had to cross through Chinese borders. I had about 6 civs North of me that the barbarians had to either go through or zigzag around. I had an ocean to the South and one civ to the West. Barbarians just flooded into my territory from the North and East. Maybe I had the raging choice checked. I don't know. When I retired and started a new game, it wasn't checked. I even looked in the settings box during the game to make sure and it wasn't checked. Bad luck I guess. I don't even mind the barbarians, they add a great aspect of the game. But this was brutal.
     
  4. The7Sins

    The7Sins Hungry Burger

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Truth or Consequenses, New Mexico
    Sounds like you got 1 or even 2 Barbarian uprising events.
     
  5. rah

    rah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,405
    Location:
    Chicago
    Lots of open space with lots of jungle or forest to cut down on line of sight.
    Or, my favorite, when my neighbor builds the GW and the all by pass him to come at me.
    Or raging horde.
     
  6. Pojman

    Pojman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    This is why I never play with barbarians.. It is far more of an issue for the player than it is for the AI.
     
  7. rah

    rah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,405
    Location:
    Chicago
    I've see the barbs take over my neighbors leaving some great cities for me to waltz into. Rare but it does happen
     
  8. Archon_Wing

    Archon_Wing Vote for me or die

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,666
    Gender:
    Male
    Barbs on large/huge maps are >.>
     
  9. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    I like playing with barbs. Easy XPs and free cities. Plus they add some challenge to the early game.

    The only ones that tick me off are the barb galleys. They appear far too early in the game, IMHO, and long before there's an effective counter to them.
     
  10. Rusty Edge

    Rusty Edge Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,894
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cheeseland
    That's how the babrbarians can have Stonehenge.

    Try Raging/Huge/Marathon on an arid or arboria map with you vs. 4 civs.
    It's a different kind of game .
     
  11. Cort Haus

    Cort Haus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    London
    I wonder what happens if they have the Great Wall.
     
  12. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    They're penned in and can't leave? :confused:
     
  13. AutomatedTeller

    AutomatedTeller Frequent poster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7,529
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    well... barbs can't have the great wall, since they can't build it and they can't capture it...

    I've seen this happen, too, and not on raging barbs. It has a lot to do with how barb cities spawn. I'm guessing you were playing continents and, for whatever reason, most of the barb cities ended up on the other continent or random islands. Yours got not barb cities, so it got tons of random barbs.
     
  14. JBryan314

    JBryan314 Always Watching

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Korea
    I think I was playing Pangaea. I really like having confrontations with Barbarians. And this wouldn't have been an issue, normally I'd welcome the Barbarians to a big showdown like that, but I had 10 other Civs who were NOT having any problems with the Barbarians at all and were starting to get ahead of me to the point I wasn't going to catch up.
     
  15. strijder20

    strijder20 Wallowing in irony

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5,047
    Location:
    In Dystopia
    I tried an Arid Rainforest map on noble/Huge/Marathon once, and it was already quite hardcore (On Noble and without Raging!). MM and Lincoln got wiped out by barbarians. Both of them happened to be my neighbours, which ensured me an easy win (although I was technically going for a fast modern era date - it was a challenge).
     
  16. JBryan314

    JBryan314 Always Watching

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Korea
    I'd like to see that, an AI civ wiped out by barbarians.
     
  17. rah

    rah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,405
    Location:
    Chicago
    If you play with events on, the one that spawns a handful of HAs can get quite amusing because if they go after AI cities, they capture them and move on without leaving units behind. One game I ended up with a chariot that took 4 cities.
     
  18. Ormylar

    Ormylar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Canada
    If there is a lot of open space between you and your neighbours, there's plenty of barbarian spawning happening. Just have a few warriors waltz around your territory or have them fortify on hills that reveal a lot of fog and you should have a much easier time.
     
  19. Old Hippy

    Old Hippy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,776
    I've just restarted an earth 18 map when the Indian civ was destroyed very early , then the Persians then the Eygtians... when i explored they were all Barbarian... so i guess it was the event or just very bad RNG, I was china and had not even met Persia and Egypt, I would have kept playing if another Civ was responsible but it happened so early I felt i was playing an Earth 15 map :D
     
  20. Ormylar

    Ormylar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Canada
    I remember one time I played Earth 18 map as Egypt. Decent food land there and a lot of space.. but at some point, the barbarians will just start comming at you in waves because of all the empty land to the south.
     

Share This Page