GOTM 106 Spoiler

Ali Ardavan

Mathematician
Retired Moderator
I started playing yesterday and I know a whole bunch of you have started before me but for some reason you are silent.

So far I have found this to be an interesting and unusual game as expected.

First decision was what to do with the settlers send them both east, both west, or one in each direction. Extensive black clicking revealed a lake towards east not close to the starting position. Based on that and the fact that even if I found more than one island off the pole I probably do not want a spread-out country at the beginning due to corruption issues, I sent both settlers east.

Second decision point was when I found the single tile Musk Ox off the pole. Should I plant my capital there or keep going? Again, I decided that the rest of my country will be paralyzed by corruption so I better move on. Eventually I got to the lake. I explored the island thoroughly first and then planned on 4 cities.

The single hut on the island gave me the worst thing it possibly could (given that you do not get barbarians before you have a city): an off path tech (Masonry).

Third decision was whether to build two cities with my two settlers or keep one for work. Since size 1 trick was such an obvious choice here I opted to keep the second settler. After the first settler was produced, I did the size 1 trick one more time and then built two cities in quick succession.

I played till 1 AD. I decided to build one city near the fish. I want to get to Monarchy as soon as possible (the extra food is important to grow at the pole) and did not think that exploring could help me faster. At 1250 bc I could change to Monarchy. And at 1 AD I finally build Marco Polo. It's a bit strange to build caravans and have to move them over 15 tiles to help with building a wonder.....