1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

GOTM 152 Egypt Regent Space - Final spoiler - Game submitted

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Game of the Month' started by templar_x, Aug 12, 2016.

  1. templar_x

    templar_x usually walks his talks

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,656
    Location:
    on a learning curve
    This is the thread where you tell us how you did - win, lose or retire.

    Only read or post in this thread when your game is ended and successfully submitted.
     
  2. bbrady413

    bbrady413 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Edit: wrong thread. Whoops.
     
  3. Nata

    Nata Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    Location:
    Boston, USA
    Done!

    Game date: 1415 AD
    Firaxis score: 4023
    Jason score: 8731
    Time played: 35:54:43

    The only problem is: my CIV-3 hangs on me sometimes during victory screens so that I have to kill the program, and it's happened this time. So I had to reload from 1410AD autosave to try to go to the turn after victory, and this time it worked. Hope it's OK.

    It was such an easy game in the end, was cruising through most IA and Modern Age, with 4-turn research starting from GA in Middle Ages. Since Middle Ages and until the launch I lost total 4 turns not managing 4-turn research. But stupid Greeks and Persians kept drawing same Tech: they both got Mono, then Steam Power (at least that one was useful), and Ecology.
    And no help at all came from AIs since AA, except I saved one turn on Engineering. So I just got a couple of optional MA techs from them, and the rest was up to me.

    Wars:
    - Persia at the start of MA. Started GA to keep MA research fast and to build infrastructure. Left Persia with one city in the northern flood plains until could relocate them to an island.

    - Rome: obliged by building Pyramids, so they were the next target. Destroyed them in MA, got 2 leaders, built FP in Rome still in BCs. Second leader, after much deliberation, was spent on Hanging Gardens. There were no other good Wonders to build, and Hanging Gardens really helped with keeping that luxury slider down during MA.

    - Greece. I thought I will beat them off the continent before IA, and then make peace to negotiate for a tech. But Hoplites were tough little monkeys, so I had to leave Greece with half their empire still on the continent, stop the war and bring them to IA. But Greece obliged by building a town on an island all by itself, yay for them. For Persia I had to build the town to gift them.

    - In IA: clean up Persia and Greece off the continent, and also Arabs who managed to plop one town there. Then go to France and India to build towns with harbours next to their countries so that I could trade for luxuries. Stupid AIs haven't built a single harbour of their own!

    The rest was just improving the land and growing the population. I was saving money to buy Modern Age techs of Greece and Persia (I broke cash deal with Greece before), forgetting that it's not Diplo, and for Space I can just research my own tech to trade with them, i.e. no pressure to buy at once. I should've used that money on Aqueducts/Markets to grow population, and also on finishing all the Labs/Unis close to the core... Then I might not have wasted 3 turns in Modern Age, to get Computers in 5 and Mini in 6. After Internet it was all 4-turn till the end.

    Both Greece and Persia got Ecology, refused to trade for my 6000$ anyway, and a good thing too. I traded it later for Computers, and used money to improve and grow my people.

    In the next 2 turns Persia and Greece were killed off their islands. Therefore no fighter jets and other nuisance to deal with from other Civs. They were still just starting IA when I launched.

    It was a nice game to ease oneself back in.
     
  4. Cotta

    Cotta Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Dont' know if I realised a good RCP. Move 3 (SE) for having an exact direction to the next city and so on.
    At least I lost 4 potential free techs - just got Feudalism and Nationalism*. So, I could have been ready 20 turns before.

    Game date: 1520 AD
    Firaxis score: 3538
    Jason score: 7754
    Time played: 10:42:44

    * Meant, surely I try to get the free techs from greece and persia. They just got exactly the same ones every time...and I made a mistake in the modern times, when I go on reasearching "too fast".
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Più Freddo

    Più Freddo From space, earth is blue

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,871
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Game date: 1290 AD
    Firaxis score: 4889
    Jason score: 10281
     
  6. tR1cKy

    tR1cKy taking over the world

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,958
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Perusia, Roman Empire
    I almost caught up :rolleyes:

    End date: 1420 AD
    Firaxis: 5157
    Jasons: 10113

    I gifted all the AS to parity, and since the freebies were Mono and Feud i went for the lower path (Inv -> Gun -> Chem) and managed to get Theo from the AS, but this was the only useful tech they researched for me until the very end. What a bunch of useless morons - at least the scientific AS had the courtesy to fish two different techs both in the IA and in the MA.

    Took over the continent minus the Romans, letting Persia and Greece live as OCC's up to the MA for freebies. Then i invaded France and England, and set the center of my 2nd core in-between their former countries. As Arabia and Rome were connected, and therefore could be fed with luxuries, i let them live and invaded India instead. Alas, it didn't make any difference.

    Mistakes: too slow in the conquest phase. I also wasted a few turns because i didn't have enough galleys ready. Finally, i miscalculated the number of tiles necessary for reaching the Dom limit and gifted Rome four cities that i could have kept for myself. Oh well, at least i could finish this one.
     
  7. bbrady413

    bbrady413 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I'm having a problem. I completed this game, and when I try to submit it, it rejects it, saying it was created with C3C 1.22. I'm playing Civ 3 Compete on Steam. Soooo......What's the problem? I want to submit my game. Its pathetic compared to the other submissions, but I still want it in there! Any ideas? Any ideas for future games so I don't run into this problem?
     
  8. Lanzelot

    Lanzelot Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,749
    Location:
    Heidelberg
    The problem is that even though Steam claims to sell "Civ 3 Complete", it is in fact incomplete...: the PtW executable (as well as the Vanilla executable) is missing! So you can only play C3C 1.22 :(

    I remember tjs282 had the same problem and he solved it some way. Perhaps there is a thread about this somewhere, or send him a PM.

    Edit: this thread has some background on the topic "Steam and PtW": My Thoughts on Steam vs. Original CDs
     
  9. bbrady413

    bbrady413 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    So my GOTM isn't eligible? Darn!
     
  10. bbrady413

    bbrady413 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I downloaded a patch for Civ 3 PTW, and that doesn't seem to work. I guess I'm pretty much outta luck. If anybody has any solutions, please let me know. I'd love to participate in more than just the COTM.
     
  11. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am.

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,370
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth
    bbrady413 - There is no "official" PTW No-CD patch and since digital versions like Steam don't include one, there's really nothing you can do to play PTW w/o the disks. There are bootleg .exe's out there if you search, and I'm not advocating d/l'ing them, but there is that option.
     
  12. bbrady413

    bbrady413 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I might just do that. I've bought a few copies of the game over the years- I have no guilt or moral compunction about downloading a bootleg.
     
  13. bbrady413

    bbrady413 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Just an update on my problem. After tirelessly trying no-CD patches and tinkering with the Steam Civ 3 Complete, I just said the heck with it and gave up.

    I just bought a copy of Civ 3 Vanilla and PTW expansion on E-bay for $9. Worth every penny in my book.

    They'll be arriving within a week, and then I can be back in the GOTM contest. :D
     
  14. templar_x

    templar_x usually walks his talks

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,656
    Location:
    on a learning curve
    great, i am happy to see you back there, well equipped and ready. :)
    t_x
     
  15. hth

    hth Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    1475, so no medals for me this time )))
    Seriously, I don't deserve it more than any time before.

    First, I went for stupid RCP5 for pursue of getting 4-turner on coast of eastern lake (which actually was broken long until AD, then becomed unimportant).
    Second, I COMPLETELY kill Persians in 900bc... :facepalm: So last sci civ, Gre, help me only once with Eng.
    Thirdly, I learn funny thing about regent AI: they build THEIR first harbor only in middle of XIV cent. :crazyeye: So I lose few turns of tech pace because lack of 4lux.
     

Share This Page