1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

GOTM 25

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Game of the Month' started by Duke of Marlbrough, Feb 2, 2003.

  1. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    This month's GOTM is a combination of ideas from what people suggested. :groucho:

    You start as Catherine the Great of the Russians on the North Island of New Zealand in the Bay of Plenty with two settlers.



    Large Earth map, map is revealed, but you do not know where the AI civs start.

    Emperor Level
    Raging Hordes
    Every Civ was given the Monarchy tech (in addition to what they may have normally had)
    Bloodlust
    No Restarts

    The game is due March 9th, 2003. This allows everyone an extra weekend to play the game. Have Fun!

    File

    Be sure you are using the correct saved game file.

    Saved game file updated
    Game Criteria clarified
     
  2. grigor

    grigor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    353
    Looks great, DoM!. Bloodlust means a premium on a faster finish or a more elegant civilization build. Should be fun.

    Just one question:

    what does no techs by conquest mean?
     
  3. LordValuna

    LordValuna High Lord

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    I didn't notice that we had Monarchy, so I didnt switch ASAP:o
     
  4. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    No techs by conquest means you don't get a tech from capturing cities (assuming the AI has techs that you don't).
     
  5. grigor

    grigor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    353
    I get the dreaded "file is not a saved game" message. Is this in 2.42?
     
  6. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    Damn, I was afraid I forgot something.... :(

    I've replaced the file with the 2.42 version, but unfortunately I had to remake the entire thing in 2.42.

    Also, since my 2.42 (or maybe all of them) don't line up right with the scenario buttons I was not able to keep the 'No techs from conquest' portion.

    So, if you have already started playing, stop. Get the new File and start again. There is no loss due to the map already being revealed.

    The file that you should be using is now called 'New_GOTM_25.sav'. Since this was caught early on, if you did not start your game using this file, do so now. Any games submitted using the wrong file will not be accepted.
     
  7. TimTheEnchanter

    TimTheEnchanter I...am...an Enchanter!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    So does this mean we will get techs from conquest, or not?
     
  8. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    Yes, you will get techs by conquest now.....
     
  9. grigor

    grigor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    353
    It works fine. Thanks DoM.
     
  10. ElephantU

    ElephantU Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    All right, I take the blame for the New Zealand suggestion - although I was thinking of the South Island...

    Too bad about Bloodlust - could have been a half-decent OCC, but then playing as the Russians will hurt research when you descend to Pathetic in Power Rating...

    No huts, right?

    Anybody NOT going Alphabet->Mapmaking?
     
  11. ElephantU

    ElephantU Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    Here's a "Lunch Time Laugh" for everyone:



    If I have not even placed a city yet, and I am Russian/White so no one else has either, and we all have the same starting tech, how is it that I am 2nd in Literacy? To whom, the Barbs?
     
  12. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    No..... every civ was given Monarchy, in addition to what they already started with, not as their only tech. So, I would guess that one of the AI players has Alphabet as well (I believe that is one of the techs that counts towards literacy).
     
  13. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    I almost started everyone on the Southern Island, especially since one of their regions there is called 'Marlborough'. ;) If it didn't touch the south pole I would have.....

    My other thought was to start the game with a trireme, but figured that would make it too easy. :)

    I thought being the White player for an OCC was best? That way you are your own key civ and therefore wouldn't have any research penalty....?
     
  14. ElephantU

    ElephantU Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    But if you are your own Key Civ you cannot get the bonus for tech-gifting your KeyCiv ahead of you in techs (assuming you do not pursue some that they have).

    Ah, the other civs have freebie techs. I gather you removed any we started with...

    SCENARIO means we dont suffer tech "hiding", right? And no huts?

    Looks like fun. Just have to finish up #24 tomorrow!
     
  15. LordValuna

    LordValuna High Lord

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    You can use find city after a few turns to locate the enemy civs first city.
     
  16. Boli

    Boli Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Dundee, Scotland
    You do know where the other civs are... watch the barbarians progress across the map, they reveal cities for you. I don't know how or even if it is a bug but I found out where each empire was in short order and as although I had not city name I knew the location of each city *shrugs*

    Everyone one of them has a fantastic startng location but us... git.
     
  17. TimTheEnchanter

    TimTheEnchanter I...am...an Enchanter!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    I saw this as well. I would guess it has something to do with the way the map was revealed...Oh well, everybody probably sees it (or they know about it now after reading this thread!! ;) ) so it shouldn't give an advantage to anyone.

    Somehow I think those starting positions were not chosen by accident. And I wouldn't be surprised if the specific civs we are facing might have been on purpose as well. ( :mischief: <-- DoM?)
     
  18. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    What??? I didn't do anything...... I just started a Earth Map, let the game randomize the starting positions of the other civs that I picked then went in and moved them to different spots...... ;)
     
  19. ElephantU

    ElephantU Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    Ah - when we all got the map "revealed" it must have set the flag that says we have seen every tile once. Same thing as exchanging maps with another civ. Until another civ moves into a tile we are the "last civ visited" and see all Barb activity, as well as entries (but not exits) of other civs. If a tile turns irrigated, another civ has moved a settler in and founded a city.

    No reflection on DoM, just a byproduct of the way he revealed the map. When a special situation like this is not tested before we'll find wierd exploits like this that were not anticipated. Remember how GOTM18 AI civs could not shift out of Despotism? Always nice to have something to help out the newer players. Anybody trying OCC?
     
  20. Old n Slow

    Old n Slow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Vienna, VA, USA
    I'll have to think about it. Maybe try a test game (start an emperor level, cheat/reveal map, move to the island) & run to see if I can bloodlust at all. I'm not the early conqueror, so that will be a challenge.

    But having an early sense of location may offset the other difficulties...
     

Share This Page