1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

GOTM 39

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Game of the Month' started by Duke of Marlbrough, Mar 31, 2004.

  1. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    The game settings:
    Shaka of the Zulus
    Emperor Level
    Large Map
    Small Land Mass
    All other map settings random
    7 total Civs
    Restless Tribes
    No Restarts

    Starting Techs:
    Bronze Working
    Ceremonial Burial



    Saved Game

    Games will be due on May 8th.
     
  2. Old n Slow

    Old n Slow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Vienna, VA, USA
    IIRC, having Bronze as a free tech may allow a straight shot for Monarchy (CB or Code would be "Joker Techs") -- wonder if that will affect the choice to pop a hut?
     
  3. ElephantU

    ElephantU Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    With both Bronze and CerBur you can do Alp and CoL but the third choice is off-path to Mon (Cur:Map:Mas:Mys:pot:War:Wri). Sorry...

    No Restarts presents the option of another Early Conquest, although greater unhappiness issues.

    OCC Report: doesn't look good...
     
  4. Old n Slow

    Old n Slow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Vienna, VA, USA
    So pop the hut & hope for a tech? -- Sounds like a win-win-win solution to me!
     
  5. ElephantU

    ElephantU Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    Or wait to get Alph before popping... opens up lots more options...

    Interesting: you can get Monarchy on 4th and Trade on 5th round, or Rep on 6th and Trade on 7th.

    With Marco Polo available we should have a few Early Conquests before AD1, even on a Large map. Keeping your Rep up will be a bigger challenge...
     
  6. la fayette

    la fayette Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    728
    Location:
    albi france
    I doubt that.
    I have a few cities left to conquer and 1AD was a long time ago.

    (of course I play no bribe, no black-clicking and no helpers, as usual, but still... my bet is that there won't be that many games won before 1000AD: the map is big, the island is tiny and there is only one settler to start with)
     
  7. ElephantU

    ElephantU Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    I was vacillating on which way to play this one, but you have thrown down the gauntlet: AD1 it is, Rep be damned!
     
  8. la fayette

    la fayette Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    728
    Location:
    albi france
    I just spent almost 2 centuries finding the last 2 Egyptian cities :D

    Black-clickers allowed to :lol:
     
  9. raven15

    raven15 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    nevada
    Couple things-
    First, glad to see La Fayette doesn't do black cligking either (takes too much time for me) or use helper programs (which I don't have and consider cheating anyhow).

    Small land mass is how I played civ2 for the first few years so it'll be a trip back to my old strategies (but on a much higher skill levels of course). Except that I want to conquer the world again, it was fun.

    Finally, what the heck does IIRC mean? Everyone always uses it, but I can't see any reason for it in the sentence and after reading dozens of usages still can't figure out what it means.
     
  10. se7en

    se7en Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    IIRC - if i recall correctly
     
  11. handyandy

    handyandy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    334
    nice first post se7en

    welcome
     
  12. mangor420

    mangor420 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    elephant if you win by 1 a.d. you are the best ever it bis 1 a. d. and i have only took two citys
     
  13. TimTheEnchanter

    TimTheEnchanter I...am...an Enchanter!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    I decided to take this challenge as well, but as others have already stated, I would be shocked and amazed if anyone could pull that off. Maybe Smash (or... who else could do really early conquest? Was it Cactus Pete?) could make a run at it, but I doubt it.
     
  14. A+ombomb

    A+ombomb Actuary

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    426
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    In order to get 1ad conquest you would need quite a bit of luck, since at this difficulty the computers are actually pretty well to do during conquest times (1000 bc - 1ad). I think it could theoretically be possible, but not practically without cheating.
     

Share This Page