GOTM59 Spoiler

Ali Ardavan

Mathematician
Retired Moderator
I started playing last night. I knew I did not want to do OCC, but I was not sure what strategy I wanted to pursure.

I founded London on the original spot and started producing settlers. Huts gave me a supported archer, nothing, 50g, Warrior code, and two advanced tribes.

It is now -925. I just finished Marco. I have 8 cities, one archer, one warrior, a caravan, and 3 settlers. I have not built any infrastructure or any other wonders. Warlord level has caused my tech advance to be quite ahead of what it usually is at this point.

My rivals have 2-3 cities each, 3-6 units each, and about half as many techs as I do. I have exchanged maps with all but the Japanese. I ran into a Japanese warrior a few turns back so I have a rough idea where they are.

This is a good time to make a decision on how to proceed. Realizing that, I saved the game and went to sleep ;)

This game seemed about as long as two turns of GOTM 58, the same feeling I had in GOTM 51. I probably could have finished in 500BC, to tie with Grigor for the Green Star [according to the Crystal Ball]. Except that he thinks he can do better than that, and now I agree with him.

I built the Pyramids again, for score. They seem to help with EC on very big maps, but the extra growth doesn't pay off until about 300BC. By then the grandmasters are already having their second post-conquest drinks on small maps like this one. I kept the Persians alive for a growth phase, and finished in the late BC years. I lost a few turns because I couldn't get Republic or Monotheism when needed (2/3 tech rule).

Only one English casualty in this game, with an all-rookie army !