GOTW 90 - Help with my first OCC

PiR

Emperor
Supporter
Hey everyone it's my first time at a high difficulty and at OCC :)

upload_2021-10-1_2-4-14.png

I'm really behing on the points... scared of losing a DV now.
Ambition victory is tough, I refused the last proposal which was to bring Judaism to 8 cities (I didn't found it).

If I read correctly the forum, I can capture city sites and make points with them? I should be able to get 5, probably more with the unexplored east, if I don't lose before. But the geography really doesn't help, even with a builder leader. The city site above the lake here is making me nuts, very hard to encircle with urban tiles. Specially because the urban tiles not within my territory don't count as adjacent urban tiles to make a new one :(

Is there any good strategy here?
I'll continue to go after wonders to keep my score at an acceptable level before capturing all this.

There's a good OCC guide here. It's from a few patches ago, but it's still pretty relevant:
https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/old-world-abbridged-guide-to-one-city-challenge-occ.666440/

I'm wondering if you don't have enough workers? I see plenty of unimproved tiles you could be pulling resources from.

Wonders are nice, but it's going to be difficult to achieve a score victory. I'd vote for focusing primarily on ambitions. Remember to rush things! Since you only have one city, you can repeatedly "Pacify City" with your advisor. So the unhappiness from rushing is pretty meaningless.

Reactions: PiR
It's very hard to get to Pacify City on that difficulty level actually. The current GOTW gives me the same issues:

upload_2021-10-28_22-36-21.png

I'm going to fall for a DV long before I can do my ambitions!

I read the guide and my conclusion is I'm trying a too ambitious level compared to what I'm used to :)

I was considering opening a thread about this GOTW. It’s kicking my butt too! I’ve played to turn 75 three times and never completed more than one ambition.