1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Graphic User Interface (GUI) Discussion

Discussion in 'Civ4 Fallout: Tame The Waste (FTTW)' started by Lib.Spi't, Feb 10, 2015.

  1. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    Ok, here is the thread for discussing the GUI.

    GUI Alternate Resolution Fixes

    1024x764

    Just Unzip and drop the assets folder in the mod install folder (Fallout-TTW) and overwrite as prompted.


    So the problem right now is that the way the GUI 'scales' itself is that the 'sides' stay the same width, and the middle portion is squeezed from either side and made smaller.

    So if it were three columns, only the central column resizes.

    Something is not right with that central box size where the icons are held though, as they are only seem to be using about half the available 'space'.

    I probably faffed something up way back when, when I was fiddling with it. I need to figure out what controls the size of the invisible box that holds those icons, and see if I can make it scale better.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Randomness

    Randomness ...

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Location:
    ...
    I'm not sure how I feel about the new civic and specialist interfaces, but I think that's me not being used to them rather that the UI being bad.

    In response to this, I haven't gotten any of the weird layout problems, so maybe that's resolution dependent.
     
  3. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    You mean --->This

    Yes it is, I basically need to work out how to get a 'good' fallout UI, that works across the res spectrum. Which is just complicated and faffy, I was gonna leave it alone till one of the people who once volunteered are (hopefully) able to come back to the team.

    I did not realise the issue was so extreme, I thought I had reverted back to a more standard version, without my meddlings, but obviously not. I am gonna try and make a res. hot fix for clanky. (and any other res that people call for.)

    As for the Civic and specialist screens they are superior.

    Civics: MUCH more room to read all the data in a given civc, as well as the ability to compare current and alternate civic side by side. Can take an infinite number of civics and categories because of the scroll bar, it takes a little getting used to, but it is just a much more efficient and productive use of space, giving priority to the most relevant and important information.

    Specialists(I assume you mean on the city screen?):
    This one is good because when I expand the specialist roster (which will come whenever I can be bothered to do it!) it will automatically apply a scroll bar (hopefully) so that it can take an infinite number of specialists without having to modify the UI.
     
  4. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    Ok, there is a res fix at the top of the thread. (well at least it fixes the unit actions, let me know if there are any other problem areas.)
     
  5. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    Look under def updateSelectionButtons( self ):
    screen.addMultiListControlGFC( "BottomButtonContainer", u"", iX, iY, iWidth, iHeight, 2, iIconSize, iIconSize, TableStyles.TABLE_STYLE_STANDARD )

    BTS code it in such a way that 99% of the main interface are hard coded values, whereas only 1% scales with the resolution. Thus, if you play around and change codes in some area without changing others => You are screwed.
     
  6. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah, That is what I discovered before :D

    I am sure it can be done, it just requires more time, energy, skill and persistence than I am willing to give it at the moment :D
     
  7. TrentonC

    TrentonC Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    I've changed the "Dawn of Man" to seem more fallout-like.

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/18254110/Untitled.jpg

    Although this isn't really apart of the GUI (I figured this would better fit here)

    Spoiler :
    </TEXT>
    <TEXT>
    <Tag>TXT_KEY_DAWN_OF_MAN_TEXT</Tag>
    <!-- %s1_year = string version of the date -->
    <English>The sun rises on the year %s1_year. Since time immemorial, the %s2_civ people have lived a nomadic life. After years of wandering, they are ready to settle down and found your first city. [NEWLINE][NEWLINE]%s3_leader, your people have vested absolute power in you, trusting that you can build a Civilization to stand the test of time!</English>
    <French>Le soleil se lève sur l'an %s1_year. Depuis des temps immémoriaux, les %s2_civ vivent en nomades. Après des années d'errance, ils sont prêts à s'installer et à fonder votre première ville. [NEWLINE][NEWLINE]%s3_leader, votre peuple vous a confié le pouvoir absolu et s'en remet à vous pour bâtir une civilisation qui résistera à l'épreuve du temps !</French>
    <German>Die Sonne erhellt das Jahr %s1_year Das %s2:3_civ Volk führt seit uralter Zeit ein Nomadenleben. Doch nun, nach so vielen Jahren des Umherziehens, sind die Menschen bereit, sich niederzulassen und Eure erste Stadt zu gründen. [NEWLINE][NEWLINE]%s3_leader, Euer Volk hat Euch absolute Macht verliehen und vertraut darauf, dass Ihr eine Zivilisation errichtet, welche die Zeit überdauern wird!</German>
    <Italian>Il sole sorge nell'anno %s1_year. Da tempi immemori, la popolazione %s2:2_civ ha condotto una vita nomade. Dopo anni di vagabondaggi, sono infine pronti a stabilirsi e a fondare la tua prima città. [NEWLINE][NEWLINE]%s3_leader, il tuo popolo ti ha conferito potere assoluto, credendo che tu possa sviluppare una civiltà in grado di resistere alle prove del tempo!</Italian>
    <Spanish>El sol se alza en el año %s1_year. Desde tiempos inmemoriales, los %s2:3_civ han llevado una vida nómada. Tras años de deambular, están listos para asentarse y fundar vuestra primera ciudad. [NEWLINE][NEWLINE]%s3_leader, vuestro pueblo os ha conferido poder absoluto, confiando en que podáis desarrollar una civilización que supere los retos del tiempo.</Spanish>
    </TEXT>
    <TEXT>
     
  8. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    That's cool :)

    It is close enough to the GUI to fit :p

    In our group thread we had a Creative Writing Corner. (But no one really came along to use it so I never got around to making one here)

    If we had one of those it would fit in nicely there, but we don't so the UI thread is the best place I can think of! :D

    Eventually I plan/planned/will at some point plan.

    To make a good old 'War Never Changes' Speech for the DOM screen text :D

    The other thing we can do thanks to Platy is make both a generic and a faction specific Intro Video.

    I have not got around to trying to make any of those though.. again WAY down on the to do list! :D

    We could try pillaging the interweb for one of the intro videos from one of the games.
     
  9. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    I just learnt how to make it play a DOM movie :D exciting!

    and learned how to get a custom bink video made and working!
     

Share This Page