Graphical Errors

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by Virote_Considon, Jun 19, 2011.

  1. Virote_Considon

    Virote_Considon The Great Dictator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9,413
    Location:
    Skaville UK Reputation: 1
    Just been playing around with the map editor a little. Most of the problems regarding terrains have been solved :)

    One error I've seen is if you select "Forest Grassland", when you place it on the map there seems to be no graphic other than the base grassland graphics. I've also noticed one glitch with the Desert terrain. It was only after I put the pine forests below it:
     
  2. Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    Sheffield
    The problem with the desert is that it can't find a graphic which contains, coast/desert/plains and grassland. This is a limitation of using the civ3 terrain graphics, it's not possible to have more than 3 different terrain types in one pcx file.

    I would also guess that before you placed the pine forest, that tile would have been either coast, plains or desert.

    I need to fix it so that it changes one of the surrounding tiles, in this case I would imagine the plains tile would get changed to grassland. This would happen when you place the pine forest, since the underlying terrain is grassland.
     
  3. WildWeazel

    WildWeazel Carthago Creanda Est

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    7,210
    Location:
    %CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
    Wow. I can't believe I've never noticed the implication of this. In Civ3 you cannot have 4 different base terrains bordering each other. The editor simply won't allow it. I sitting here in amazement as I try to recreate that simple terrain arrangement and realize it's not possible.
     
  4. Takhisis

    Takhisis Rum and coke.

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    54,597
    Location:
    up yours.
    Oh… I just tried it and if I place a Coast, a Desert and a Plains together then the onetile touching all three turns into a Plains no matter what. :eek:
     
  5. Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    Sheffield
    lol....almost 10 years and you never noticed. Even though you can have those terrains next to each other, it just wont allow it in that configuration. Just because the pcx files can only have upto 3 different terrain types.
     

Share This Page