1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Great Admiral city transfers

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by qadams, Oct 21, 2019.

  1. qadams

    qadams Bohemian

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Ruritania
    I earn a Great Admiral, only he arrives in a harbor that's locked in by ice. So then I want to move the Admiral to another city with a harbor, right? Except to do that I have to first move him into my city center — but I can't because the city tile is not immediately beside the harbor tile.

    Why is it that when moving a Great Admiral, you can go to a different harbor, but you cannot transfer him from a harbor? Does that make any sense?
     
    Icicle and Elhoim like this.
  2. Lily_Lancer

    Lily_Lancer Emperor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,718
    Location:
    Berkeley,CA
    Surprisingly enough, they can also move to water parks. (Still cannot transfer from water parks)

    I guess there's some bad logic for admirals.
     
  3. Tech Osen

    Tech Osen Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,384
    They can even move to water based wonders! Yeah, it's annoying when it happens.
     
  4. MrRadar

    MrRadar King

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    959
    I guess, the Teleporter Device is invariably installed at the City Hall and the Mayor is the only one authorised to activate it using his/her fingerprint. He can punch in several options for the destination, but the leaving point is fixed at the city centre.
    Or else, the coach service always leaves from the Central Station at the Monument. You can talk to the coachman so he would take you a bit further to the harbour at the destination, for some extra coins, but as leaving goes, there are no exceptions: please make your way to the fixed departure point :)

    Yes, an option to set a rally point would be useful, also in the cases, when you span a continent and have East and West coasts, but those oceans are cut off by the polar ice and the land is too wide for Panama.
     
    Stilgar08 and Victoria like this.
  5. Lily_Lancer

    Lily_Lancer Emperor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,718
    Location:
    Berkeley,CA
    This assumption is not true, because
    1: GA can travel to or from cities without monuments.
    2: GA cannot travel to city centers that are not on coast, however they can still transfer to water districts that belongs to this city.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2019
  6. AsH2

    AsH2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Sweden
    That's because their bus tickets are zone-restricted.
     
    MrRadar, Pietato and Victoria like this.
  7. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,175
    he said leave not arrive
    upload_2019-10-22_10-1-29.png
     
    MrRadar, WillowBrook and Pietato like this.
  8. WillowBrook

    WillowBrook Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,098
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    This is a bit of ridiculousness I hope they finally fix in a patch.
     
    qadams and Elhoim like this.
  9. Linklite

    Linklite Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    Sounds like you better build a few railroads to melt that ice...
     
    Elhoim likes this.
  10. Scaramanga

    Scaramanga Brickhead

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,105
    Location:
    Canada
    It's some kind of incentive to build on the coast I guess, or not build harbours that are locked by ice. Wouldn't the coast have the most housing in most tundra situations?
    It's wacky enough that they can arrive in water districts, it's not like great artists can arrive in theater districts.
     
  11. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,175
    What gets me is why you would want your harbour not adjacent to your city. It is a major adjacency and hence very easy to get +3 on. If you are going to build a harbour just go coastal, 1 tile away is weird. If you are not next to your harbour, make sure it is not your largest city and your admiral will not arrive there.
     
  12. Scaramanga

    Scaramanga Brickhead

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,105
    Location:
    Canada
    The only reason to build harbours away from the city centre is for embarking and disembarking units and traders in a body of water and building naval units there. If the body of water is locked in ice it's completely useless for these purposes.
     
  13. qadams

    qadams Bohemian

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Ruritania
    I built the harbor where I did for one purpose, which was to enable the swift construction of the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus. That city near the ice happened to be very strong in hammers, and I wanted to get the wonder built quickly. I did that, but then I forgot about having my admirals appear there and not being able to move them anywhere else. Anyway, I still got the bonus for engineers, which was the most important thing.
     
    Victoria likes this.
  14. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,175
    Yeah, shame you cannot kill some of the pop bar starvation. Your point still has validity but at least you are not bitterly so about it.
     
  15. qadams

    qadams Bohemian

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Ruritania
    Is that how it works? The Admiral always appears in the largest pop city with a harbor? I thought maybe it went to the oldest harbor, but I might be wrong.
     
  16. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,175
    We all are sometime. Here London was my first. Just this turn I get an Admiral and it appears at Plymouth. Save attached if you wanted to see it in action. Plymouth does not even have a lighthouse yet.
    This was part of 10 games I have tried tonight to get a golden age on deity while pushing harbours... all but 1 failed. Testing for another thread where someone claims it is a valid strategy on deity pffft.
    upload_2019-10-22_23-5-36.png
     

    Attached Files:

  17. acluewithout

    acluewithout Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,676
    I sometimes have a big productive inland City. I’ll have built it to be productive, not for a naval game specifically. But it has an ocean tile in its third ring, it has the hammers to quickly build a harbour and some Frigates, I need to kill someone with white hot boat death, and I think “why not?”

    I think generally you’re right. The mechanics now really push you to have Coastal Cites to maximise Harbours. I have mixed feelings about that change, but you can see the logic. Certainly Coastal Cities are stronger now.
     
  18. Lily_Lancer

    Lily_Lancer Emperor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,718
    Location:
    Berkeley,CA
    On online speed you need 19 points in 30 turns, 7 of them is guaranteened by RNDY, so you only need 12

    On standard speed you need 25 points in 45 turns except for RNDY, so you need 18 in 45 turns, consider on online speed things build up more quickly, yes it is more difficult on standard to get to golden age.

    I guess on standard speed you may need religion to get to that Golden Age?
    +3 from a +3 Holy Site
    +3 from forming a Religion
    and also
    +3 from converting enemy city to your Religion (I think this works for CS?)

    Or you can try to build a wonder for +4.

    If you waste your precious hammer on a Lighthouse(and not for wonder) then I guess you may fail. The bound is really tight though,
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2019
  19. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,175
    Rubbish, UD’s not +3... so it is only +4.
    How much of your talk here is theory?
     
  20. MrRadar

    MrRadar King

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    959
    @Victoria, I see that London RNDY also scores for Bustling Harbour - did you get era score for both: UD and great adjacency? Before, civs with UD were kind of penalized in this respect, era score was only awarded for UD, and if it happened to be the first great adjacency, well it was 'too bad' situation. As it was with UU too. But after September, I finally got both era scores for my UU also being the first ship, so if they fixed it for units, they must've done the same for districts?
     

Share This Page