Great Diplomats, AI and Paper

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by civplayer33, Jan 18, 2019.

?

What do you think of the proposed change (Paper increases only on expending the GD for Influence)?

Poll closed Mar 19, 2019.
  1. OK / Good

    5 vote(s)
    26.3%
  2. Opposed, instead we should tweak the AI to value Embassies more

    9 vote(s)
    47.4%
  3. Opposed, everything is fine now, nothing needs to change

    5 vote(s)
    26.3%
  4. Opposed, we should do something completely different (elaborate below please)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Leondegrance

    Leondegrance Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    303
    Gender:
    Male
    What do you mean it is not a glitch ?

    Let me ask you something.

    1. Napoleon plants an embassy in Lhasa
    2. Isabel plants a Great General and takes the embassy in her territory
    3. Napoleon plants a second embassy in Lhasa
    4. Isabel plants a second Great General
    5. Morocco plants an embassy in Lhasa
    6. Morocco is eliminated from the game by Isabel
    7. Napoleon eliminates Isabel and takes the city

    How many embassies does France have in Lhasa ?
     
  2. Kim Dong Un

    Kim Dong Un The One & Unly Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    955
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pyongyang
    "A new challenger has entered the ring!"
    And just when the dust was starting to settle from @BiteInTheMark ...
     
    Hinin, tu_79, Skidizzle and 3 others like this.
  3. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    not a bug. Embassies don't yield delegates if they are not in city-state territory.
     
  4. Rekk

    Rekk Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,120
    From what I understand of your scenario, Napoleon has three embassies in his territory, but none of them provide votes because they aren't in city state territory. Morocco's embassy will never become a vote for France regardless.
     
    Skidizzle likes this.
  5. Leondegrance

    Leondegrance Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    303
    Gender:
    Male
    That is the glitch. Pay attention. It is not Napoleon who planted the generals. But at the end he ends up with all of them. And still has no vote ? Please report this to GitHub.

    I discovered this glitch only by deductive logic. It is not happened to me really. But the mechanics of the game suggests the existence of the glitch. It is purely deduced glitch. But still should be reported to GitHub, in the rare scenario someone encounters it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
  6. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    no.
     
    Skidizzle likes this.
  7. Leondegrance

    Leondegrance Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    303
    Gender:
    Male
    No ? Napoleon exhausted 2 Great Diplomats, conquered 2 Civs, and still has no vote ? You don't even understand the glitch.
     
  8. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    Napoleon didn't bother to plant another embassy at the city-state. Embassy grants vote only if they're in a city-state territory and even so they grant 1 vote to whoever owns the orignial capital(if they are eliminated) or their owner.
     
  9. Leondegrance

    Leondegrance Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    303
    Gender:
    Male
    No he planted 2 of them. Please don't tell me that he has to plant a third one.

    I understand what you are saying if you follow the rules but I am demonstrating to you that this design leads to problems.
     
  10. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    no, it doesn't. What you are describing is in an ultra-rare scenario that you have to intentionally facilitate for this to even happen for 1 city-state out of the rest.
     
    burleigh likes this.
  11. Leondegrance

    Leondegrance Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    303
    Gender:
    Male
    It is rare, I deduced it I told you. I didn't say it broke up the game.

    In fact I said I don't bother with CS at all in 43 games.
     
  12. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18,325
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    Aaahh hahahaha. Hoooo. Wow. I needed a hearty chuckle, thank you. This would be my favorite github post, please make it, I promise I'll never delete it.

    G
     
    burleigh, Skidizzle and TranceBlossom like this.
  13. Leondegrance

    Leondegrance Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    303
    Gender:
    Male
    Your laugh is contagious you know. Even I laughed at this.

    But jokes aside, you better report this to GitHub because it is ridiculous glitch.
     
  14. BiteInTheMark

    BiteInTheMark Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,024
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    I dont see any problem.
    There is no City State anymore. So, no vote from a CS or from an embassy. Normal.
    If Napoleon wanted 2 votes from alliance and embassy, he should have liberated the CS and didnt conquer it.
    AND. If you conquer a capital from a civ, you get the control and the votes of their embassies (Didnt noticed it by myself, but it was said its working this way.

    But I want to note, AI is spamming influence GD in my games to. I think only a third or less is used to create embassies. This makes a high vote control by embassies relative easy. Using influence gain from GD early on should be only used by maybe Siam and Germany, cause of their UA. Else, its kinda wasted.
     
    Skidizzle likes this.
  15. azum4roll

    azum4roll Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    1,732
    Gender:
    Male
    Only if the civ is eliminated, based on @Enginseer

    I do have a question based on that super rare scenario though. What if someone else conquers Lhasa, plants citadels to grab all those embassies back into Lhasa territory, and THEN Napoleon liberates Lhasa? Lhasa would have multiple embassies.
     
  16. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    Whatever embassy was claimed first during Napoleon's liberation is considered the official embassy.
     
  17. StevenV

    StevenV Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Hungary
    I would add another "issue" regarding Great Diplomats. I keep seeing that AI using Great Diplomats for Influence in CS where
    • I have granted sphere of influence via WC
    • or where open door policy in enacted (so no one could be their ally)
     
  18. civplayer33

    civplayer33 King

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    965
    Good catch! You should report this to Github since those would definitely be bugs I'd say.
     
    Skidizzle likes this.
  19. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    7,370
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Not a glitch. You could say that AI played badly even though knowing the rules. When I place an embassy, I try to put it where a citadel is hard to locate. Because, you know? I was stolen one embassy a few games ago and now I care a little more.
    I will forgive AI not being so far sighting as me regarding where to place best an embassy.
     
  20. civplayer33

    civplayer33 King

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    965
    I dunno about that...IMO the AI doing something really stupid is a glitch. After all, improving the AI's decision making process is part of this project and the reported case isn't exactly something that is debatable; it's clearly the wrong move.
     
    Skidizzle likes this.

Share This Page