1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Great mod, but AI attacking is severely butchered

Discussion in 'Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn' started by Caymon, Aug 9, 2015.

  1. Caymon

    Caymon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    ===EDIT===

    Just wanted to put here that the problem is fixed in the newest rev. This mod rocks!

    ========

    Old:


    Hi.

    I came back to playing this mod, and updated to the latest rev, 983+. There is a severe bug that renders the game unplayable for me, since it's impossible for the AI to do anything on the battlefield.

    I noticed that the AI absolutely NEVER uses siege weapons to bombard a city, or even cause collateral damage. I tried the UPT rule to see if that would fix it - no luck. They actually move their stacks of siege weapons away from the city while sending countless other units to their death when trying to attack the defended city. Not really challenging and fun at all for the player.

    In my opinion, this is a BIG, PESKY, bug that ruins a lot of the experience of playing Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn.

    In rev 920 there was no problem with this, so I am reverting back for the time being.

    Please fix. For everything else, this mod is great!
     
  2. masaykh

    masaykh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    446
    hm, 983\985 rev middleages, ai attack me with macemans, catapults, war elephants, and other available to him units - what i do wrong? i`m playing with flexible difficulty option started from prince - currently on monarch)
     
  3. 46852

    46852 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Finland
    Related to this topic, what kind of algorithm does the AI use to decide if it should attack (in a tactical situation, unit versus unit) or not?

    I've played with Persia recently (rev985) and it seems like the AI happily attacks with it's archers even before I get to attack them in defensive positions. Immortal is 5*1.5=7.5str against Archers 3str (or 4-5 depending on tech). Most of the attacks have been pure suicides, and afterwards I've had easy time with the cities since most of the defenders have died in the attacks.

    Seems like the AI doesn't consider a single attack's strength balance that well?
     
  4. ciadude2

    ciadude2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    In my games they tend to attack in big stacks, especially when in the Renaissance era. Hundreds of grenadiers in particular.

    Biggest problem I've seen is that the AI is garbage at modernizing militaries. Haven't seen any enemy aircraft my past couple of games.
     
  5. 46852

    46852 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Finland
    They do attack in stacks, but it's not that smart when they would get +50-100% better bonus by just defending. I'm not sure if the AI overvalues archers as attackers or what is the problem.
     
  6. ciadude2

    ciadude2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    I've noticed the same thing. The AI will attack with waves of longbows... but at least they usually upgrade the attacking ones with first strike promotions.
    Still inefficient though.
     
  7. 46852

    46852 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Finland
    Ok this is really crippling for the AI. I can basically murder strong protective AIs by parking Immortals on hills/forests beside their cities, and the archers and javelineers will mass suicide on my Immortals (immortals indeed in this case :)).

    I needed only a "stack" of 4 immortals to slowly grind down HREs cities that had 50+ CD/Drill2 Strength 4 archers, in a matter of less than 30-40 rounds.

    Cries for a fix, if it's possible :(
     
  8. valeriosavio

    valeriosavio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Riccione, Italia
    Related to this topic, I've a common bug:

    the AI is attacking another AI with tons of units.
    The defender has few units, and as the turn passes, still they don't conquer!!
    It seems that the AI is attacking with just one or two units per turn
     
  9. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,299
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Archer issue:

    Do you have Archer bombard ON?
    In my experiences they love range bombarding nearby units from a well defended tile.
     
  10. 46852

    46852 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Finland
    No I don't have that feature on.

    Basically the root problem is that the AI attacks from well-defended cities against strong attacker positions, and doesn't seem to calculate at all whether it's better to defend or attack.

    The difference between defend/attack can be easily tilted from 3:2 odds for the AI to 1:2-1:3 against (archer 5str vs immortal on forest hill). I wouldn't mind a bigger stack of weaker units trying to wear out a stronger attacker, but the AI sometimes suicides everyone except a lone city defender.
     
  11. War Druid

    War Druid Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Do you have any of the AI options on (Ruthless, Aggressive and such)?
     
  12. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,852
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    We're aware that AI war strategy needs improvement :)
     
  13. 46852

    46852 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Finland
    I thought you would be :)

    The problem seems less highlighted after ancient era when AI stacks are more balanced. In ancient era, AI armies seemed to be mostly archers, and Immortals were perfect counters for them. Now I'm regretting I let Caesar develop enough to get Praetorians... In other words, I'm having fun! :)

    How easy is the strategic & tactical AI to mod? I think some small emphasis value changes here and there could do wonders, IF they're easy to mod.
     
  14. 45°38'N-13°47'E

    45°38'N-13°47'E Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,852
    Location:
    Just wonder...
    Unfortunately it's not that easy, but we'll do our best :)
     
  15. os79

    os79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,067
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    You know code can tell a story, right? ?Why not read the code story of how to fight. See where AI is emphasize this or that you are looking for, then change that value. Why not that easy? Fundamentally, because what code you coders put in are from your imaginations! :)
    Though, it would be cool if you can do catch the spirit of the AI story as coded, and see where you disagree with or redesign the code, do that and test. We trust you! ;):king:
     
  16. MercuryBluefalc

    MercuryBluefalc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    There is improvement. I started to play a game, and rome used at least 40 balista to fire down my city defense. But yeah - he still attacks only with one Unit. In the normal Game the AI doesnt do this, so i would ask: why now? It makes fights longer, yeah. But its at least very strange...
     
  17. os79

    os79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,067
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    So you are asking to make AI be more purposefully with its stacks? Make exception to the fact it is a stack sent out to attack or conquer a city to attack with lower odds tolerance? Maybe AI need to understand distinct use of stacks? Unfortunately i can't read the code very well to see the story behind it.
     
  18. MercuryBluefalc

    MercuryBluefalc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Well, the AI has lets say 50 Swordmen, 60 Catapults, 40 Riders and the city is defended with lets say 20 units, they can attack with catapults and then storm the city, like a human would do this. atm the catapults fire their range attack and then one! unit attacks the city. Thats a bit pointless i think.
     
  19. valeriosavio

    valeriosavio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Riccione, Italia
    same is happening to me!!

    Hope they fix this, because that's an outstanding mod!!
     
  20. Sgtslick

    Sgtslick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,675
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Haven't played in a couple of months but was thinking of picking up where i left off my last game. How is AI? Is this fixed? Is war bugged for AI?
     

Share This Page