Gustav Adolf: Genocidal Maniac?

Mr. Grieves

Wondermonger
Hey Guys,

I'm new to CFC and quite new to the civ franchise in general. I'm really enjoying it, but one AI oddity particularly strikes me as weird. Sweden always, and I mean - in my games - always is a warmongering menace to the world.

For one, this isn't really reflected in their AI flavour stats, but it really doesn't make sense, seeing as though their special ability is worth close to nothing if they're not friends with a couple of civs.

I mean, I can kind of see them going for the honour policy track every single time because of the free Great General for gifting to a city-state, but after that they just seem to squander their seriously overpowered and awesome SA. :confused:

Don't get me wrong, I love to liberate my buddies and nuke Stockholm to hell as much as the next person, but they'd simply be much more powerful if they played peacefully and had a carpet of doom of academies, right?

1. Very true, corrected that one.

2. In general, they really start pouring down hell around the time Caroleans and Hakka~ come around, yes. But I've had him DOW me in classical/medieval more than a couple of times too, and in my last game he had completely absorbed Elizabeth before 1AD. (can't blame him for that one, that's just good sense)

It's just that I don't recall ever having had a lasting friendship with him, while I have with other, more obviously combat-oriented civs.

3. Thanks :D

I never had an issue with Sweden as a warmonger before my current game, but in this one they moved a giant army towards Marrakech - I had a defensive pact with Morocco, and it so happened that when it triggered the Swedish army was surrounding Damascus (guess who I was playing). It was one of the tensest battles I've survived.