Hammer of the North

Hi everyone!

As you may know I was once a very active contributor to this community, some 15-20 years ago - the last 15 years not so much so. Working, buying a home, raising two kids - life is very different today than it was back then, when I was a student and had lots of time on my hands to work on my various projects, not to mention play Civilization in all it's incarnations and scenarios :)

Last year I quit my job - for many reasons. But I've been increasingly drawn back to games, and now, in particular, game design. I want to design board games.

Creating scenarios for Civilization II - researching, writing, working out the rules, playtesting, creating the iconography, graphics and sound effects, adjusting everything, nights after nights of making adjustments based on how the AI reacted to all the ideas - all this was very much what I consider my real education in game design. Yes, I've made games in the 1980'es as a young kid, programming my Amstrad CPC 464 and had a blast, and I've created roleplaying game scenarios and campaigns and have made board game prototypes. But what I learned the most from, and also take the greatest pride in, are the scenarios I made for Civilization II.

One of the most popular scenarios I made back then was also my first - a scenario on the history of the viking age - Hammer of the North, which was made in two versions, the first, for classic Civilization II, simply because I didn't have the Multiplayer Gold Edition, which had an events-file. I didn't know anything about events. The second (current) version was a completely revamped version for MGE (and now converted to ToT too!) wtih a new map, new graphics, sounds, tech tree and almost everything else.

badomens2.gif