1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Has Anyone Seen the Barbsrian king?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Öjevind Lång, Oct 2, 2010.

  1. Öjevind Lång

    Öjevind Lång Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,371
    We were told that the barbarians would continue to spawn camps until the city of the barbarian king has been captured. Well,know I have played two games where I managed to view every tile on the map, and there was no barbarian city - and yet, the barbarians kept spawning. So I don't know what to think, unless the king resides on the North Pole or the South Pole. I'll check that, but it sounds weird to me.
     
  2. lissenber

    lissenber Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    North Pole? Maybe he`s Santa.
     
  3. skallben

    skallben Diplomat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,004
    Location:
    Cold Country in Europe
    They don't need kings, that is why they hate civilization.
     
  4. Malkaviel

    Malkaviel Prince

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    lol I've never heard of barbarian king.
     
  5. Mango Elephant

    Mango Elephant Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,142
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    I think I read something about a barbarian king a while ago. He's not in the game anymore.
     
  6. AriochIV

    AriochIV Colonial Ninja

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,962
    Location:
    Nehwon
    Never heard anything about a barbarian king.
     
  7. Ashmantious

    Ashmantious Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    I know in Civ IV barb cities stopped spawning once the map was filled up, I would imagine the same would be true in this version (in the interest of disclosure I haven't played it yet)
     
  8. Abremms

    Abremms Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    i think that was a very early game idea that got dropped. now barbs will spawn as long as there is unclaimed terrain not in anyone's LOS
     
  9. 12agnar0k

    12agnar0k Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,556
    that early report was slightly misinformed, they probably meant camps, and weren't aware there were multiple camps.
     
  10. Justicex

    Justicex Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    I dunno. They keep spawning on my island. I don't have the entire world visible yet, but all of my island is and barb city-states keep popping up every once in a while.
     
  11. dannythefool

    dannythefool King

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    657
    I think it's similar to Civ IV, actually, where barbs only spawn in tiles that are far enough away from any major civ unit. I haven't verified it, though. But they don't seem to spawn in territory that I can currently see, and of course they don't spawn in territory that I own.
     
  12. Dusk

    Dusk Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Anyone got a link to said early preview?
     
  13. gunter

    gunter King

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    Barbarian king ? This sounds new to me , I believe it isn't in the game.

    Just a side note, I hate to see Brute men in modern era, BTW also 25 gold on modern eras are useless.
     
  14. Ashmantious

    Ashmantious Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
  15. Winth

    Winth Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Poland
    Go forth, magical amulet! Return to the barbarian king!

    Charlie! You're the barbarian king!

    You're the barbarian king, Charlie!

    All hail the barbarian king!

    You are the barbarian king!

    Barbarian barbarian barbarian barbarian barbarian barbarian barbarian
     
  16. Nutteria

    Nutteria Tzar

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Sofia,Bulgaria
    In my last game there was a patch of tundra/ice that I never bothered to foxbust.By the year 1920~ A barb camp spwned with infantry ..was very pleasantly surprised.That camp reminded me of the civ 2 future tech barbs that were spwning in the year 2020 with 5 tanks 4 artilerys and stuff like that.
     
  17. gunter

    gunter King

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    I see here a lot of banana trees, did you push your science up recently ?
     
  18. Öjevind Lång

    Öjevind Lång Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,371
    I saw him mentioned in one early interview with the game designers - I think in more than one, actually. Sounds like a nifty idea. Perhaps they could have the barbarian king on large or huge maps with fewer than normal civilizations.
     
  19. lonemessiah

    lonemessiah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    if you don't like the barbarians spawning near you post sentry units to keep the fog of war off those areas.
     
  20. Namaspamus

    Namaspamus Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    I think there were barbarian kings in Civ II, bringing a small gold ransom if you defeated them. Not sure.
     

Share This Page