1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Hellblazers Map Script

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by 76ers, Mar 18, 2019.

  1. 76ers

    76ers Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Good news I just tried the new version and it is compatible with Vox Populi. I had installed it to use for the regular game and it wasn't spawning luxuries at all. So I got rid of it and downgraded to the older version. I realized though that it might be working with Vox Populi now. Since the reason the new version doesn't work with the base game is it is set to work with the Lek Mod. Which has the More Luxuries mod in it. Downloaded it again and tried it with VP and it is spawning all the right luxuries now. For those unaware it used to only spawn the base game luxuries and not the newer ones.

    Here is where you can download it. Pretty much the best map script there is IMO glad it is finally working with VP. Can be set to Pangea, continents or oval.
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1KiFTUkF8zxbRdN_AmQ-jIwdUAjnriO2wYNGBuqphcCM/edit#
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2019
    Owlbebach and John.B.C like this.
  2. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,509
    So what makes this script so good? Care to give us the quick and dirty summary?
     
    wobuffet, vyyt and JNZS13 like this.
  3. vyyt

    vyyt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,567
    Location:
    Czech Republic
  4. 76ers

    76ers Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Yeah I'll do some screenshots of each map type. FIrst just the setup screen. It very customizable. More rivers if you want them, more lakes, less tundra. I haven't played around with the land size yet that was added to this new version but it looks very promising.
    Spoiler set up screen :


    This map was set up for multiplayer. If you ever watch the multiplayer youtubers like Baba Yetu odds are they were playing on this map. Some of the things that were eliminated for it are huge mountain chains. There are mountains but it will never be to the point that they are unfriendly to domination players. Ice blocking the pangaea is also eliminated. Your navy will be useful and usable. The starting points from my experience always have a reasonable amount of distance between civs consistently.

    Here are some pangaea screenshots. With low sea level. Sorry these aren't the cleanest screenshots but I'm using a version of EUI that isn't compatible with Vox Populi at the moment. Having some fun abusing Spain with the Hellblazers map option to increase natural wonders on the map to 12.
    Spoiler Spain starting spot :



    Spoiler Assyria and Ethiopia :


    Spoiler My personal favorite thing about the script the islands :




    The map has plenty of settleable islands. Good for civs like Polynesia, Carthage and Spain. You also have the option in the settings to cut back on the islands or increase them.

    Spoiler Byzantium and Portugal :



    Spoiler Ottomans, Persias, Arabia :



    I'll take some screenshots of the oval and continents map as well soon.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2019
    John.B.C and vyyt like this.
  5. Rekk

    Rekk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    683
    Does the amount of resources seem ... high?
     
  6. 76ers

    76ers Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    It is but you turn them down in the settings. The screenshots don't have them turned down and legendary start/strategic balance with uranium is turned on.
     
  7. Kim Dong Un

    Kim Dong Un Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Gender:
    Male
    This looks promising. Does selecting low/sparse resources actually work though (unlike Communitas...)?

    I'm interested to see some Continent pics.
     
    vyyt likes this.
  8. Bhawb

    Bhawb Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2018
    Messages:
    184
    I've been messing around with the script a bit. Sparse resources seems to work. The continents look fine, but I can't seem to get it to spawn any decent amount of islands. Its just two huge continents and nothing else as far as I can tell.

    After messing with the settings a lot, Pangea looks very nice if you like Pangea maps, but Continents is just flat worse than Continents Plus.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2019
  9. doublex55

    doublex55 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    475
    So Pangea has all those islands but continents doesn’t? Weird. If Pangea has islands like that though I will play it all day. Makes having a baby (edit: navy lol) consequential which is the main problem of Pangea, and makes fishing actually a good tech. My biggest problem with continents is that the smaller continent gets ****ed due to having less trade partners and less city state quests.
     
  10. Mambo668

    Mambo668 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    wow, this pangea with islands looks super cool. Maybe a little too long Songhai highways :)
     
  11. PlaysTooWide

    PlaysTooWide Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Songhaiways?

    I'll see myself out
     
    vyyt likes this.
  12. John.B.C

    John.B.C Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Gender:
    Male
    I play nothing but continents, so it's too bad it doesn't work on that map. Can't it be fixed?
     
  13. Owlbebach

    Owlbebach Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,727
    Location:
    Moscow
    The greatest thing about this script is the way it defines starting locations of player. You are pretty much guaranteed to have balanced start that takes your civ's UA into account. However i'm not sure this will work properly in VP since UA's are different
     

Share This Page