1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Help adding new traits

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by 22bebo, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. 22bebo

    22bebo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    How do you add in a new trait to the game? I can find the info for cIV vanilla, but not BtS. Does it use the same file?
     
  2. cybrxkhan

    cybrxkhan Asian Xwedodah

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,687
    Location:
    The Universe
    It should be the CIV4TraitInfos.xml in the Civilizations folder.
     
  3. 22bebo

    22bebo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    I don't have that folder, at least, not in the BtS folder. I do in the normal Civ. If I make it will it add them in or will it get mad at me and tell me that I did something wrong?
     
  4. NotSoGood

    NotSoGood Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Finland
    There's also CIV4TraitInfos.xml in warlords folder. I'd suggest you using that because I'm sure BTS does so too. I'm not sure what is the difference between them but I suggest you to use the most recent files to your version you're modding.
    If you mod civiv, use its files. If you mod warlords, use its files OR if there isn't the file your looking for, use civiv's file. If you mod BTS, use its files OR if there isn't the file your looking for, use warlords' file and again if there isn't the file your looking for, use civiv's file.

    That's basicly how it goes. If I didn't miss anything. ;)
     
  5. 22bebo

    22bebo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Okay, thanks. :)
     
  6. cybrxkhan

    cybrxkhan Asian Xwedodah

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,687
    Location:
    The Universe
    If I remember correctly the only difference from warlords and bts in terms of traits was that the expansive worker rate was reduced from 50% to 25%.
     
  7. 22bebo

    22bebo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Okay, I've got another question about it. The trait I want to add would give +2 espionage in all cities, and double production speed of the jail, intelligence agency, and the security bureau. And another one would give plus two relations with everyone, and give plus fifty percent trade route yield. My question is, how do I add new tags? I guess this goes with all XML files, but still . . .
     
  8. NotSoGood

    NotSoGood Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Finland
    The first is easy and can be done with xml. Look in the TraitInfos. There you can see <CommerceChanges/> in the trait you got. Replace it with this
    Code:
    			<CommerceChanges>
    				<iCommerce>0</iCommerce>
    				<iCommerce>0</iCommerce>
    				<iCommerce>0</iCommerce>
    				<iCommerce>2</iCommerce>
    			</CommerceChanges>
    It gives you +2 ep per city.

    The second part of your first request is done in the BuildingInfos. Look for the buildings you want, jail as an example. There you can see <ProductionTraits/> replace it with this
    Code:
    			<ProductionTraits>
    				<ProductionTrait>
    					<ProductionTraitType>TRAIT_YOURTRAITSNAME</ProductionTraitType>
    					<iProductionTrait>100</iProductionTrait>
    				</ProductionTrait>
    			</ProductionTraits>
    Do the same for intelligence agency and security bureau too.

    The second one is harder to do. I have no idea how to do it in the original BTS' xml. You can add new tags, just remember to put them in the schema too. But your new tags wouldn't do anything. Getting them work would require some DLL coding. Python might be another way, not sure though.
     

Share This Page