1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Help! Every turn Gold is Dropping!!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by flyingawaytoday77, Sep 2, 2006.

  1. flyingawaytoday77

    flyingawaytoday77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    Hi

    I was playing civ and i was somewhere at 100AD, the tech research percentage started to drop when my gold reached 0. Why did i lose gold? how can i make gold rise not fall. i had a few cottages being worked on, but still it continued to drop. Can someone tell me what to do?


    Thanks
     
  2. ocedius

    ocedius C++ induced baldness

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    617
    Location:
    TX and proud of it!
    Try building more cottages. They may seem like a costly investment, but nothing beats gold for tech and gold for units.
     
  3. necrolyte

    necrolyte Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    227
    Too many cities.

    I've done that before.
     
  4. flyingawaytoday77

    flyingawaytoday77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    Around how many cottages should i have in each city? and also when necrolyte said " too many cities ", i had 4 cities and it continued to drop. what are the things that even cost maintanance?

    thanks
     
  5. Artillis

    Artillis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Pittsburg, Ks
    courthouses help alot with that, plus markets and stuff like that, that will improve how much gold you gain per turn
     
  6. FuRRie

    FuRRie King

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    903
    Location:
    Belgium
    Cities in general cost maintenance, get Courthouses/markets/grocers up.
    and for the cottages, an easy way, to remember is Cottage all grassland/Floodplains, and 1/2 of plains.
    This is a general guidline, before people start saying i'm wrong, it's a good way to begin with, because the amount cottaging depends on your cities.
     
  7. dalessi12

    dalessi12 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    If you only had 4 cities, then I suspect you had a bunch of units.

    In the early game, when you are not making a lot of gold, there are several things that can kill your economy. Namely:

    Too many cities (and their associated maintenance costs)
    And with the cities, they cost more the bigger they get, so over time expect same number of cities to cost you more and more.

    Too many units (and their support costs)
    And with the units, they cost a lot more when they are in enemy territory, so going to war and moving 15 units into AI territory will instantly create a gold shortage.


    Generally, my pre-courthouses war is one where I raze most cities (keeping only capital or holy city, and maybe one other)

    After couthouses, I can keep a few more.

    After currency, even more.

    After Guilds even more, etc, etc.

    There are several distinct techs that will help your gold intake, and you should always be careful about expanding too much when you are not close to one of these tech points. (CoL, Currency, Guilds in the early going. Banking, Printing press, Liberalism in the mid-game.)
     
  8. flyingawaytoday77

    flyingawaytoday77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    as you said that "if i had too many units and their support costs", what does that mean? what are support costs? where can i view them?
     
  9. COUGAR69

    COUGAR69 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    texas
    Depending on lvl of difficulty you can build a number of units with out a support cost.After that set number you have to start paying gold to support any uints above the number of free units you are allowed to build at that difficulty level.You should be able to find the number of free units under the difficulty settings section in the manual.As for unit support cost I think you will find that under the section for units.If I remember correctly any unit built over the number of support free you units you are allowed to build will cost 1 gold per unit.At settler lvl you may get 10 free units.So 15 units at that lvl will cost you 5 gold per turn because 15-10=5.Hope this helps.
     
  10. csarmi

    csarmi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Click on "F2".
     
  11. flyingawaytoday77

    flyingawaytoday77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    Sorry but i don't understand what you mean:(
     
  12. cheesejoff

    cheesejoff Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    You have to pay 1 gold for every unit you have. Depending on the difficulty, you get a certain number of free units. At high difficulty, you get very few free units, at low difficulty, you get a large amount of free units.
     
  13. flyingawaytoday77

    flyingawaytoday77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    Oh I see. by the way do you have to route every cottage?
     
  14. turquoiseninja

    turquoiseninja Cylon Centurion

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Rochester, New York
    Nope; you just have to have citizens working them.
     
  15. Bushface

    Bushface Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Torquay, England
    You only need routes from developed resources to your city and from city to city. Rivers act as routes if the resource or city is on the river bank, but only between cities on the banks of the same river; linking two rivers by road does not work.
    To see what's costing you gold, either press F2 or click the "dollar" button at top right of the campaign screen. (Try the other buttons there as well, to get more info.)
     
  16. sydhe

    sydhe King of Kongs

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,426
    Location:
    Norman Oklahoma
    Also check your civics. Some of them have high costs.
     

Share This Page