help - lost autosaves on cotm3

rrau

Emperor
Help - I was playing cotm3 and got to 1200bc and stopped, but just left the autosaves. Later in the day, a shogun scenario was started and I lost my cotm3 autosaves :( . Is there any way to get it back?

It sounds like you have overwritten the saves from the COTM with those from the shogun game. If you have you might have blown it.

If you haven't overwritten them ie. you didn't play up to 1220 BC in the shogun game. There are programs that can allow you to recover dumped or deleted files.

There is a utility that I used once called Rundelete - there are probably many others. I used it to see if accidently deleted data was still on disk. In my case it wasn't and had been overwritten. I'm no expert but I believe when a file is deleted the executable is removed and it can be subsequently over written but until this happens it is still there and can be restored by these sort of utilities.

IIRC you run it. Look in the autosaves folder of conquests and the deleted files will be flagged with a red marker by rundelete. Whether you want to recover it is up to you - I think there is a risk of overwriting existing files with the recovered ones or in the case of large chunks of data wiping your entire drive.

Well, I downloaded it and tried it, but it had already been overwritten, so I guess I won't be playing and submitting cotm3 :(

rrau,

I have written an tool that transfers autosav files automatically to a designated backup folder.

I use this tool when playing the cotms.

However you need VB.net to properly run it. If you don't have VB.net, tell me which excell-version you have. I can propably create the same tool in excel.