Help me getting Started

persisT

Chieftain
Hello there dear community. I just registered here (have been a guest for more than 5 years for sure) in order not only to get active but to be enlightened in some stuff that i currently have no knowledge.

I have taken a break of ~1year playing civ and i think of returning once again playing this awesome game. I have played 400 hours of it and all these hours are with no mods, so you can understand from that, that i have no experience around them. I decided to search about mods that alter a little bit the gameplay and i think that Communitas Project seems the most ideal for my purpose. I want to play with a better AI that acts better in game and can compete not only by having many bonuses but also by doing smart decisions (instead of dumb that it currently does). So this project seems fine to me and i would like to try it out but while reading forums i got confused a lot about its current state and what should i download. I do want to download cat and ceg but as i have read ( of course i may be mistaken since i am new here in the forums and in the modding scene [as a user]) about different versions of it like 3.16,3.16 with mod mods or something,3.16s of various modders and one 3.17 ? which one should i download ?