1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Help me win Immortal more consistently!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by Zaddy, Feb 27, 2020.

1. Zaddy

Zaddy Warlord

Hi all, I've been playing Civ4 on and off for about 7 years, and it's become undoubtedly my favorite game of all time. Watching others and lurking here for years, I've absorbed enough info to begin winning on Immortal! I have several wins under my belt on both Pangaeas and continents style maps.

The issue is two-fold:

I'm probably only winning ~50% of games I play
    When I do win, it usually is a super late domination win with tanks really late into the game

both of these suggest pretty significant shortcomings in how I play, because as we've seen from the talented folks here (almost?) 100% of Immortal maps are winnable, and in a much earlier timeframe. So I've decided to start a shadow game so the experts can help me up my game. :)

Here's our settings...

Spoiler Game Settings :
    upload_2020-2-27_17-37-48.png

Everything standard! Not sure what the consensus is on Big and Small here but I've taken a liking to it! Saladin was given to me by the random leader option. He's not exactly fantastic but definitely not the worst!

...and our start:

Spoiler :
    upload_2020-2-27_17-38-42.png

So much food! :crazyeye: Too bad our leader's starting techs make this start pretty awkward...

Warrior doesn't seem to be in a position to reveal anything that would take me away from all this yummy food and PH. Moving the Warrior 1SW seems like a no brainer...

My opinion is that we have pretty decent food with the corn and flood plains letting us skip Fishing for the time being. Start with Agriculture > Pottery > Mining > BW? Then maybe Fishing after BW?