Help me win my 1st Scientific Victory.

Fahim

Chieftain
Just won my 1st Cultural Victory as Greece which took me about 7 hours. I focused on merely on Theater Squares, Great Artists, Writers and Musicians, Trade Routes which got me lots of culture, wonders that give me culture, went for a Diplomatic Government and focused on Cards that awarded culture unless i'm lacking in any other resource. Basicly CULTURE CULTURE CULTURE! =) At the same time had to make sure all my cities were happy with growth housing and amneties. I did not focus on any military at all except for couple of archers warriors and horsemen to fend of barbarians early game but was always keeping an eye out for civs that might be a threat and declare a surprise war.

Now I am looking to go for a Scientific Victory in which I have zero experience. Need some tips on what to focus on to while going for a scientific victory.

1. What districts do I need to focus in my Capital and my other following cities?
2. What government should I aim for and any specific cards that could be of great use to me?
3.Will trade routes have a big impact going for a scientific victory?
4. Should I focus on any military apart from fending of barbarians?
5. Should I play more offensive style (attack other civs or city states) or defensive ( try to make peace with everyone)?
6. Anything else you might think of.

Might have asked some stupid noob questions but im still beginner all tips, ideas and suggestions are much appreciated =)

Ultimately, you need a good amount of research, and 1-3 cities with a lot of cogs to do the actual building. Having enough great person points and faith/gold to snag the relevant great engineers and great scientists can help a lot.