1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Help - new to WoC.

Discussion in 'Civ4 - World of Civilization' started by Swoop99, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. Swoop99

    Swoop99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Firstly, loading the mod takes 5 minutes. BTS runs fine, I load the mod, BTS exits and minutes go by before a splash screen appears and a further wait before the game finally runs. Is there anything I can do to speed this up?

    XP. AMD 4600 Dual core. 2Gb RAM.


    Secondly, which mod edits the resource display? (both from within cities and when a settler is selected) I need to turn it off cos I can't see any anymore, it's just a mess of pixels and I can't tell how much each city square is producing.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Elucidus

    Elucidus King

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, this may be an issue with the Vertical_Symbol.dds. I am not sure if this was fixed with BTS, if it wasn't then when you try to change the file it squashes everything to fit the resolution it thinks it should be.
     
  3. Swoop99

    Swoop99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Ah right.

    How do I fix it?


    It's not in a mod folder that can be moved to the unloaded folder. I tried removing the file and didn't get any resource display at all. I also tried replacing the file with the original from the main civ assets folder and I only get a resource display on tiles with bonus's.
     
  4. Swoop99

    Swoop99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    screenshot of the problem

     
  5. Swoop99

    Swoop99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    further testing:

    Uninstalled 1.20 and installed 1.10.
    Problem does not exist in 1.10.
     
  6. Elucidus

    Elucidus King

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    USA
    What does it look like in 1.10?

    Like normal civ? can you post a screenshot?
     
  7. Elucidus

    Elucidus King

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    USA
    It does look like the vertical symbols problem and if it is then there is only one fix for it. The Binary Yield Display. It can only work up to 19 or 31 of a particular resource depending on the version loaded. Hopefully they load both it is only like 10 lines of code changed and a single dds file, so it wouldn't add all that much.

    I can even design the display icons. I mean the guy who made it, made the ones for the 19.
     
  8. Swoop99

    Swoop99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    screenshot of 1.10:


     
  9. Elucidus

    Elucidus King

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    USA
    Looks like they tried to add the extra resources to the tile displays as well. Probably replace the original tile display...Vertical_Symbols file. Let me try it.
     
  10. Swoop99

    Swoop99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks man!
     
  11. Elucidus

    Elucidus King

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    USA
    No, of course I didn't think about it, if the programming in the DLL is different that wouldn't work. Everything is mostly blank that way. We will need the experts to fix it. The files that are affected aren't even in a module folder.

    WoC 1.2\Assets\Art\Interface\Vertical_Symbols.dds
     
  12. Swoop99

    Swoop99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks for trying.

    How do I report this to the experts?
     
  13. Elucidus

    Elucidus King

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    USA
  14. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    At Swoop99 is there any modules you have turned off in WoC 1.20? if so can you list them?
     
  15. Swoop99

    Swoop99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Problem existed with all mods loaded. I tried unloading the bluemarble mod to see if it made any difference but no effect.
     
  16. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    Your the second one to have this problem, very weird. Can you post a save game?
     
  17. Cyberviking

    Cyberviking Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Norway, Kalmar Union
    Loading Woc takes 5 minutes, and when i try to start a standard size game, my computer just freaks out, the taskmanager refuses to work, and the game doesn't start. To run Civ without Woc works perfectly.
    I have AMD 64 3800+ dual core, 2gb ram and Geforce 7600GT
    :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
     
  18. Elucidus

    Elucidus King

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    USA
    It's a mod in progress, with everything currently not as efficient as we would all like it. You want a mod or your want a mod of modules. This is something that has never really been done before, its new territory so don't expect just more of the same.

    And on a personal note, RAM is cheap these days pend the 38 dollars and get 4GBs.
     
  19. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas

    You may need to cut out some resources as adding all of them makes loading the map take longer, you can basically make you own mod by editing the various MLF_CIV4ModularLoadingControls.xml. The main one is here Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\WoC 1.2\Assets\Modules.

    Spoiler :
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <!-- Sid Meier's Civilization 4 Beyond the Sword -->
    <!-- Modified by the World of Civilization Team -->
    <!-- Master Load File -->
    <!-- -->
    <Civ4ModularLoadControls xmlns="x-schema:CIV4ModularLoadingControlsSchema.xml">
    	<DefaultConfiguration>Modules_Main_1</DefaultConfiguration>
    	<ConfigurationInfos>
    		<ConfigurationInfo>
    			<Type>Modules_Main_1</Type>
    			<Description>Initialize ALL Modules by using the MLF file structure</Description>
    			<Modules>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Original BtS</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>AC_DC</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>				
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Bad People</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Balance</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>				
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Buildings</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Builds</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Civics</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Civilizations</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Art Styles</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Combat Categories</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Corporations</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Events</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Game Concepts</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>						
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Great Doctor</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Great Statesman</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Immigrants</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Interface</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>LandR</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>LeaderHeads</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Neolithic Era</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Pirates Ho</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Projects</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Promotions</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>				
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Religions</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>				
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Resources</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Restricted Resources</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Revolution</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Sea Cities</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Slavery Mod</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>				
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Specialists</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Super Spies</Directory>
    					<bLoad>0</bLoad>
    				</Module>				
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Technologies</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Terrain</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Unique Names</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Unit Sacrifices</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Units</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    					<Module>
    					<Directory>Ranged Bombard</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    				<Module>
    					<Directory>Wonders</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
                   	<Module>
    					<Directory>Yet More CommerceTypes</Directory>
    					<bLoad>1</bLoad>
    				</Module>
    			</Modules>
    		</ConfigurationInfo>		
    	</ConfigurationInfos>
    </Civ4ModularLoadControls>


    You can turn any of these off by using a xml editor or even notepad. To turn these off change <bLoad>1</bLoad> to <bLoad>0</bLoad>. Also the are various MLF_CIV4ModularLoadingControls.xml in the individual folders in modules. For example resources has about 31 new resources. There are also 19 new civs. So if your finding load times are taking long perhaps you may need to turn off some mods. Good luck.
     
  20. Swoop99

    Swoop99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    19

    Got no way to host the file, I can email one to someone but I'm not sure how much use it'll be, the display error is constant under 1.20.
     

Share This Page