Help! Start with Civ4, Warlords, or Beyond the Sword?

New2Civ

Chieftain
Hello!

I just got the Civ4 bundle from d2d, and I finally installed all 3 games.

I am basically a Civilization newbie, so which game should I start playing with?

I hear Beyond the Sword is the newest, so should I start with that one? Or just go with the tutorials in vanilla Civ4?

Does the content from Warlords exist in Beyond the Sword, or do I have to play them separately?

Thanks! I'm overwhelmed by all the information :crazyeye:

Hey, welcome to the forums! :beer:

I suggest starting with the "Vanilla" CivIV and the tutorials. CivIV has a bit of a learning curve, so the tutorials will help a lot. The expansions (Warlords and BTS) add quite a bit, so you might want to get used to the game before jumping into the game with ALL the features. :)

We were all "newbies" once, so feel free to jump back on here anytime and ask questions! :) Most here are happy to answer your questions or point you to the handy articles on this site. Good luck, and happy Civ-ing! :)

Does the content from Warlords exist in Beyond the Sword, or do I have to play them separately?

All content from warlords, except for the scenarios, is included in BtS.

Oh, and welcome to the forums. :goodjob:

If you begin, after the tutorial in Civ4, I advise you to begin with warlords, where there are two *main* changes with vanilla civ: unique buildings were added, and 3 traits were added (which resulted in many changes for the different leaders regarding traits).

In Bts, loads of contents are added, but there is no drastic change as there was in Warlords, so even if you're unfamiliar with the new stuff when you go to BTS, you will not be lost, because everything in warlords is still here.