Help! Where should I settle?

FlyinJohnnyL

You need more workers....
This is going to be my first try at Monarch. After my Toku game in NC I think I'm ready to try. Picked Random leaders and ended up with Willem :D Ironic since I got my first Prince win with him. Anyhow, I've always been a "settle in place" guy for the most part. So what would you do with this start?

Is it just me, or is there no screen shot?

I see it. First impression... THAT IS ALOT OF FOOD.

Does one still receive the freshwater health bonus if you move 1S to grab the second fish in the BFC?

I smell Representation and scientists galore.

I see it. First impression... THAT IS ALOT OF FOOD.

Does one still receive the freshwater health bonus if you move 1S to grab the second fish in the BFC?

I smell Representation and scientists galore.

Unfortunately, no, it's not freshwater if I move 1S. That is what is making this a more diffucult decision for me.

Sorry about the screenshot, I'm still learning how to do that. I guess it's working now.

I'd move the warrior 1SW, if that's a peninsula down south, settle 1S-SW (where the warrior is now). That way you get fresh water from the river, plus another super city north of the starting position (perhaps 2 NE of starting point)

In place, IMO.

Early on poach the seafood with another city to the south possibly. Later on you have a sick GP farm.

The :) and even the HEALTH caps will give you problems if you go 1 south. Anywhere else seems a weaker capitol than in place ATM. You may want to move your palace for bureaucracy but either way in place is workable/pretty strong!

Isn't it annoying when the best seafood tile is just out of reach, fish always seems to end up that way for me ;)

Anyway, in place looks good, it can be a killer GP farm or even a production monster late game (all that food, plenty of plains to workshop + the hills). If you're really lucky the grassland south of the settler will turn up a horse to make it a very good start.