1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Hi

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Dopey113, Nov 17, 2012.

1. Dopey113

Dopey113 Chieftain

Anyone give me some tips on this please, I am 57 first time I have played this sim (used to call them god sims) I only have civ 5 at the moment but will get the expansion soon, so seeing im new to this game (all the new shoot'em ups are getting a tad to complex for me now) slow this down a little... and what's the best way to go about things as a newbie thanks

2. gingerbill

gingerbill Prince

hi

there's a lot of guide's around , youtube has some good guides too .

My advice would be to start a game on prince and learn as you play , if you lose start a new game and win from what you learnt.

Some basic pointers....
    Science is based on population..
    growth is limited by happiness...
    Try to keep units alive and promote them..
    archers are good for defending..

3. whyidie

whyidie Emperor

The civlopedia (think its in the help menu) is the equivalent of the manual if such things interest you.

I found prince level to be too rushed for my initial play through, if you like taking your time try the lowest level and epic speed for your first game.

4. Sherlock

Sherlock Just one more turn...

Culture is VERY important. You get it by building buildings and wonders or by using great artists.

When you have enough culture you get to pick a free 'culture policy'. These give you rewards which can be critical early game. For example you can get a free worker or a free settler right when you really need them.

You might want to start on easier difficulties until you get familiar with the game mechanics.