1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Hidden Hotkeys/Tips and Tricks plz?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Otaku-sama, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. Otaku-sama

    Otaku-sama Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    I know for sure that I am not playing with all the potential controls of the game. I know all the basic controls and a few tricks like selecting all cities and placing signs, but I want to know any more tricks there may be, like rally points for units.

    "Charity begins at home. Care to give us some?"
     
  2. Badtz Maru

    Badtz Maru Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    674
    My favorite hotkey combination:

    Alt-Click on one of your city names. This selects all the cities.

    Ctrl-Click a nice offensive unit. This adds one of those to the queue of every city that can build it, above whatever they were working on before.

    Shift-right-click on a square near the border of a country you plan to attack. This sets a rally point for all your cities.

    Wait a few turns, you have a nice stack to attack with.
     
  3. naterator

    naterator Bravely running away

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,909
    Location:
    Spamalot
    This is from the Sevopedia in the BUG mod.
    hotkeys.JPG
     
  4. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam GiftOfNukes

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    22,120
    Location:
    Orlando
    Too bad alt, control, and shift click do not function properly on a consistent basis.

    Too bad the game acts as if you are pressing alt sometimes when you are not pressing alt.

    Too bad these things have been reproduced on multiple machines

    Too bad they were never, ever touched across all patches.

    It's always fun times to alt-click a group then attempt to use shift-click to remove them. Nope...just keeps re-selecting the whole group against your will.

    Sometimes shift-click does this with smaller groups also, instead of selecting individual units, it just keeps selecting/unselecting the same group w/o splitting it. Of course others you can just select individual units this way...

    If you have previously selected the naval units in a transport stack, control clicking a land or air unit will...KEEP SELECTING THE NAVAL UNIT. Merely left clicking at all will also continuously select the naval stack. You have to actually unselect the naval stack or you are stuck.

    Sometimes one can whip every damn city, by simply left clicking on one city and pressing whip. Left clicking on one city occasionally means selecting all of them, even if you are soundly picking your nose with your other hand and it is nowhere near the keyboard.

    Sometimes you also declare on your trade partner and friend who borders you and whom you are not defended against. When the game feels like it saying "you were pressing alt whether that's true or not".

    In multiplayer and ONLY IN MULTIPLAYER (anyone know why this is?), you can not control-click to select all units in the same tile if some have used up their movement and not others. Seriously, it only selects the ones with full movement even if you do it multiple times. In single player it will not do this.

    The game forces waypointed and automated units to move into danger that is readily visible, because THAT's fun.

    Anyway, if you want something other than griping (which is hopefully likely), I still have my guide to speed civving in my signature :p.
     
  5. CHEESE!

    CHEESE! ROCKETS GONNA GETCHA

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,210
    Location:
    In the Land where
    What seriously annoys me is that planes and ships are ALWAYS picked when you want to select a land stack! GRRR!
     
  6. BibiTref

    BibiTref Minor Troll Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Bibiland
    TMIT also left out that you can "road to" a worker or just waypoint a unit and it will follow a different path than the one displayed when you issued the command.
     
  7. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam GiftOfNukes

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    22,120
    Location:
    Orlando
    I also left out how that command in particular makes the worker walk right into barbs, even if it already sees them. Before you can cancel orders. To add further insult, if it has movement points after moving next to the barb it will put them into roads rather than interrupting it.
     
  8. BibiTref

    BibiTref Minor Troll Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Bibiland
    Actually if you're very quick you can cancel the order. I reloaded one game about 5 times to make a worker stop farming after I discovered horses. Later into a game you probably have to be much quicker. Maximizing Ability doesn't always minimize frustration.
     
  9. Otaku-sama

    Otaku-sama Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Thanks naterator for that picture with all the hotkeys! Now when I am creating SoD, I don't have to keep directing them.

    I did notice how when I want to deselect some units out of a big stack with Shift+Click it keeps reselecting the stack. When this happens, I just select something else first, then go back to it. That usually stops it from being difficult.
     

Share This Page