1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

High Sierra 10.13.3?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Macintosh' started by PrairieDad, Mar 1, 2018.

Tags:
  1. PrairieDad

    PrairieDad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    The last post in the High Sierra thread was Jan. 10, since which time 10.13.3 has been released. Anybody notice any problems/changes/improvements...whatever. I'm on 10.12.6 (last Sierra update) and play OK, but would normally be ready to upgrade, now that several point-releases have been out for a while.

    Thoughts? Thanks!
     
  2. srodrigu

    srodrigu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm running the latest version on High Sierra. The CPU and cooling fan is running constantly at 200%+, even at the lowest graphics levels. I have the latest MacBook Pro with the Touch Bar, so I would assume the hardware is capable, but maybe I'm wrong. Has anyone seen any threads with tips to get the game to perform without melting my MBP?
     
  3. LFRANK

    LFRANK Semper Fidelis! Supporter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Hell, MI
    I also have a MBP with Touch Bar and am not experiencing continuous fan or CPU overload at all. I will say that when I do play I'm not setting the laptop onto my lap and possibly blocking the exhaust ports on the back of the machine. The entire chassis of a MBP acts as the heat sink and if that mechanism is blocked it tries harder to cool itself by increasing the fan speed.

    I've rigged up a short shelf to use as a lap table while leaving room for a mouse. This allows space for the cooling mechanism of the MBP to operate and lets me use a mouse and prevent hand cramps from trying to control units with the mouse pad.
     
  4. Zaimejs

    Zaimejs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    Nebraska
    My iMac crashes every time I try to play. When it first came out, it worked fine... now I cannot play. Not sure why.

    Running 10.1.3.5 beta... maybe that is the issue :(

    I don't get why it overheats and crashes.
     
  5. PrairieDad

    PrairieDad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    It may be the 10.13.5 beta, since I have been playing without any issues at all on 10.13.4. I'm a retired IT professional, and I usually don't upgrade from 10.n to 10.n+1 until the new version is at least at 10.n+1.3...so maybe you'd be better on 10.13.4 for some time to come?

    Also, how much RAM and VRAM has your iMac got? Mine is so old (mid-2011) that it's not even supposed to run the game! VRAM is only 512MB ;-) but in fact it does fine...slow, but perfectly stable...I do have 16 GB of RAM.
     

Share This Page