1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Historic City States

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Mod Components' started by zappara, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Historic City States

    Version 2 beta adds 9 new city states to the game:

    Samarkand
    Malacca
    Khotan
    Troy
    Milan
    Koumbi Saleh
    Anfa
    Macau
    Hong Kong

    Download

    Also available in game's mod browser.

    This is a small mod that I decided to make as my first Civ 5 mod after installing modtools - worked as a learning process for me to find out what is required to make a mod. I could add some more city states if requested but I'll be concentrating on other mods in future.

    When testing this mod, I noticed that there's no limit on how many city states you can have in one game so basically you can enable all the new city states when you make a game through advanced setup - just move the city state slider to the maximum.

    Feel free to use this mod as you see fit (play, use in your own mods etc).
     
  2. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,887
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    Is it possible to make a mod so that city states would be in line with the geography of the land?
    That is: African set of land would have African named CSs, European land European CSs, etc...

    Also, can the CS's nationality be given?
    I mean, the name of the civilization for the CS: Dublin should be named the Irish Civ, etc...
     
  3. Szpilman

    Szpilman Void Co. Chairman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Cola
    You could probably get that working by fiddling with AssignStartingPlots.lua, so that it would examinate each region's tilesets for proper CS placing.
     
  4. Baleur

    Baleur Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Qingdao, China
    Tried it and like the extra variation, but Hong Kong showed up as "City" on the map.
    Also, there should be more asian cities XD
     
  5. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,102
    Location:
    In orbit
    Troy, Samarkand, Malacca, Khotan, Macau, Samarkand, Hong Kong... sounds pretty Asian to me. :mischief:

    Nice one, Zappara! :goodjob:
     
  6. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    I like this, excellent mod. It was clever of the designers to create the city state structure in such a way it's easy to add new "minor" civs. Great idea to expand on that.



    ...Odd little off-topic thing I just noticed: I've had the John Howe painting of your avatar icon as my desktop image for 8 years now. The strong angle of it works so well aesthetically with the layout of Windows' quickbar and system tray.

    Spoiler :
     
  7. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Umm, these are City states so of course they appear like cities :lol: Most of them are also asian in this mod - it's much harder to find African or American city states when digging through history sites... Europe is pretty much covered in vanilla Civ 5. There's plenty of other ancient asian cities that could be added but I didn't want to fill the mod with only asian cities.

    The whole modding system in Civ 5 is quite flexible so it's quite easy to expand just about anything... :)

    And yes, that's the picture where my avatar icon is from - saw the picture long time ago, made avatar out of it and have used it since :)
     
  8. Quklis

    Quklis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Finnish Socialist Workers' Republic
    Also if you like to have it more historical you could change some vanilla names, like replace Helsinki with Turku, much longer history and was originally the 'capital' of Finland :mischief:, also it's more maritime than Helsinki. Sure there would be more historical corrections possible. Good mod though :goodjob:
     
  9. labrynianrebel

    labrynianrebel Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    USA, Former Northwest Territory
    I was adding these new city-states to a mod I was working on and Hong Kong and Macau's cities were blank and I had to name them myself. But it seems... strange to have two city-states with no names...
     
  10. mamba

    mamba Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,520
    Nice, I will certainly get this one.

    I just created some new city states of my own (mostly because I wanted larger map sizes and need more than the 28 city states if I want to maintain the ratio). We overlap in two of them ;)

    EDIT: having a download available here would be nice, for whatever reason the in-game mod browser does not wor for me (i.e. it shows no mods).
     
  11. Edgecrusher

    Edgecrusher King

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    One thing I wanted to play around with was a "Unique City State" concept.

    For Example, Create a trait, exclusive to say, Venice. and have their benefit be a free "Galleass" (A new unit, that is exclusive to them), in addition to some economic benefit.

    Maybe have all the City-States that were on the Silk Road to offer Economic benefits associated with Luxury resources.

    The trick would obviously be balacing the various traits, but I felt it would create an element of flavor.
    I am not sure if the AI would make a priority to target the City-States that would have percieved better benefits that fit their situation, but thats another story.
     
  12. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Found a small bug regarding those cities. Fixed it and uploaded new version.

    Added the mod to civfanatics download db. See first post for download link.
     
  13. Opera

    Opera Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Gender:
    Female
    Ah zappara, I just uploaded a mod with some new city-states as well, including Samarkand. I didn't see yours before. TBH, it's because for some reasons I can't see the downloads in Civ5...

    Anyway, just saying. We made the same kind of mods to try out Civ5 modding :lol:
     
  14. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Yeah, saw few other city states mod as well just now in Civ 5's mod lists - adding city states is easy way to learn this modding stuff :lol:
     
  15. SomethingWitty

    SomethingWitty Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    533
    Would it be possible to mod in new kinds of city states? Ones which give a bonus to science, for example?
     
  16. Opera

    Opera Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Gender:
    Female
    Not yet. Kinds are hardcoded in the DLL, iirc.
     
  17. Skaithak

    Skaithak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Thoroughly looking forward to when City States get fully modded with more types, personalities, requests and unique benefits. But this is a good start :)

    Maybe some of the civs from previous versions could have a city state representation until/if they are added? Amsterdam, Carthage and Addis Ababa, for example. Not strictly city states in reality, but worth representing, IMO.
     
  18. labrynianrebel

    labrynianrebel Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    USA, Former Northwest Territory
    Works now :goodjob:
     
  19. Baleur

    Baleur Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Qingdao, China
    Yeah thats what i meant, they showed up as "City" (name, hence the quotation marks) :lol:
     
  20. NoiZe

    NoiZe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    This Mod also has the Prob with building Settlers in CityStates :)
    Does it rely on this part >>>
    <Row>
    <MinorCivType>MINOR_CIV_MILAN</MinorCivType>
    <FlavorType>FLAVOR_EXPANSION</FlavorType>
    <Flavor>10</Flavor>
    </Row>

    Have changed it now in my files, but cant test it today, it's late :lol:

    Edit: Looks like it fixed it.I set all "Flavor_Expansion" to zero.
    here is the corresponding file : Historic city states.xml
     

Share This Page