1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Historical Archive Of FFH Mods

Discussion in 'FfH2 Modmods, Scenarios, and Maps' started by copx, May 20, 2015.

  1. copx

    copx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Historical Archive Of Civ4 Mods

    There has been a problem with unmaintained Civ4 mods becoming unavailable
    in the past. This archive is supposed to address this.


    Available Mods

    The following mods are currently available in the archive:

    Wild Mana 8.34

    The final version of Wild Mana, the predecessor to Master of Mana. However
    Wild Mana is noticably different from Master of Mana and some people consider
    Wild Mana to be the superior mod. It is certainly a complete, stable,
    and fun mod.
    This package is standalone and does not require a FFH installation.

    Master of Mana 1.42g Hotfixed

    The last version of Master of Mana before things "got crazy" as I like
    to say. More balanced, complete, and less buggy than later versions.
    This package is standalone and does not require a FFH installation.

    Master of Mana 1.42g Hotfixed Xtended

    Modmod of the above with more stuff and some changes.
    This package is standalone and does not require a FFH or Master of Mana
    installation.

    Orbis 1.0b Hotfixed With Soundtrack

    A beloved FFH modmod which is hard to sum up with a sentence or two. Just
    try it!
    This package is standalone and does not require a FFH installation.


    Installation

    All mods are repackaged as RAR5 archives with BLAKE2 checksums
    i.e. you need WinRAR 5.x to extract them. Once WinRAR is installed
    simply extract them to the mod folder e.g. assuming you installed
    Civ4 to "C:\Games\Civ4": "C:\Games\Civ4\Beyond the Swords\Mods"

    If you want to start a mod directly just create a new Windows shortcut with
    a target like:

    "C:\Games\Civ4\Beyond the Sword\Civ4BeyondSword.exe" mod=\Orbis


    Switching Between Mods

    Remember that switching between mods in Civ4 might mess up the settings
    of said mods. Always start a game with "Play Now!" (i.e. not "Custom Game")
    once after switching mods to restore the mod's settings to their defaults.
    Note that you do not actually have to play the game, just start it.


    Enjoy! :king: :goodjob:
     
    Vintage Strategist likes this.
  2. Jojo_Fr

    Jojo_Fr Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    France
    That is interesting. Thank you you very much.
     
  3. Calavente

    Calavente Richard's voice

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,812
    Location:
    France
    Thank you very much.
    I normally have all those somewhere on my HD, but it's nice to know that there will be an archive in case the computer crashs !

    By chance would you have somewhere FFH 1 ? and the first phase of FFH2? (there were 3 phases: light, fire and shadow.. I think "fire" was the first version of FFH2).

    /regards
     
  4. copx

    copx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Nope, sorry.
     
  5. Terkhen

    Terkhen King

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    910
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    If you are interested I could provide one of the old versions of vanilla FFH2. I can't check the specific version right now (I'm not at home) but it was about 0.3x; one of the last versions which included guilds.

    EDIT: I just realized that I could just check my own forum history to find it. The links that Bad Player gave me still work: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?p=13005909#post13005909
     
  6. Calavente

    Calavente Richard's voice

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,812
    Location:
    France
    thanks terkhen... But I am mainly interested in FFH1 ...
    it's the one that hooked me into the world of FFH :D
    but 2 computers and 4 HD later, I lost it :/
     
  7. Jarrema

    Jarrema Master Voter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,196
    Location:
    At home
    unfortunately, Orbis file does not work.
    I tried to download it several times, and every time I get info that the file is damaged :(
     
  8. copx

    copx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Strange. After reading this I downloaded the file myself and tested the downloaded archive. Everything was fine.

    Wait.. you did use WinRAR 5.x to extract it right? The instructions are not a suggestion there, this is necessary. Older versions of WinRAR do not understand the new format. Same thing is probably truly for any other program with ".rar file support" you might use. I doubt most/any of them support archives with BLAKE2 checksums.

    By the way I put in those checksums to prevent this very issue, users ending up with corrupted archives I mean.

    Please try extracting the archive with the current version of WinRAR: http://rarlab.com/download.htm
     
  9. Jarrema

    Jarrema Master Voter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,196
    Location:
    At home
    ok, thanks for info. I will try to unpack it with this program when I return home
     
  10. mikmac

    mikmac Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Thanks copx!

    This is a brilliant effort. I DL:d Orbis and it works just fine.
     
  11. akatosh

    akatosh Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    401
    copx,

    You are a gentleman (?) and a scholar. Thanks for doing this for the community.
     
  12. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,514
    You might consider including Fall Further, if you're doing a "historical archive." Yes, it was further developed as Rise from Erebus and, currently, Ashes of Erebus, but it does include the Jotnar in their original implementation -- that's actually the main reason I kept it, since RifE redesigned the Jotnar and then disabled the module pending a complete overhaul, so it's sometimes fun to play the original Jotnar.
     
  13. BlackArchon

    BlackArchon Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Germany
    Does someone still have the change log from MoM 1.42 Patch G? I lost it during the last years...
     
  14. Calavente

    Calavente Richard's voice

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,812
    Location:
    France
    I might be able to find the patch somewhere... but the changelog... I'm not sure
     
  15. BlackArchon

    BlackArchon Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Germany
    The patch itself would also be fine. I know I had implemented some stuff more than three years ago, but I couldn't find it on my disk...
     
  16. Calavente

    Calavente Richard's voice

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,812
    Location:
    France
    I'll look into my backup drive this evening
     
  17. BlackArchon

    BlackArchon Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Germany
    Thank you! :)
     
  18. Calavente

    Calavente Richard's voice

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,812
    Location:
    France
    I guess you received it ;)

    and for my archive, you wouldn't have a version of FFH1 or of "FFH2 Light phase" (the first complete version of FFH2 ?) (it's not really to play, but for completing the archives... I suppose that you don't have it as "light" ended in 2006, and FFH1.. years before that, before you joined CFC :( )
     
  19. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,681
    FFH1, i might have, i need to look into my old harddrives.
     
  20. Calavente

    Calavente Richard's voice

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,812
    Location:
    France
    o.o that would be great... (I'm a squirrel on those subjects... I like to have those stocked somewhere... I had them once upon a time... but HDD destructions and PC migration lost them)
     

Share This Page