Hotfix announced

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ragan651, Aug 21, 2013.

  1. ragan651

    ragan651 High Regent of Candlewick

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    NW US
    On the 2K forums, they announced a new patch being released today.

    This includes a fix for the achievement bugs.

    http://forums.2kgames.com/showthread.php?260106-Hot-Fix-is-on-the-way

    [CRASH]

    Fixed a crash that could occur when users try to replace a farm with another improvement (like a Holy Place, Manufactory, etc.).
    Fixed a crash with the World Wrap when moving naval units across it (primarily on Windows 8, the FX draw could cause a crash due to memory constraints).
    Fixed a crash when attempting to unlock the Raiders of the Lost Ark achievement. This affected only human Washington players who were completing an Archaeological Dig in neutral territory.
    Fixed a crash that could occur during the AI turn if a city that had connected trade routes was razed.
    Fixed some additional random crashes found via Steam Reporting.



    [AI]

    The number of Archaeologists built by the AI is now more reasonable.
    Correct error in flavor changes for ranged unit construction strategies.
    Espionage AI: Correct an issue that was causing the AI to assign diplomats improperly when there were no valid targets.
    Tactical AI - Pillaging: Update tactical AI to include targeting Citadels and non-resource tiles for pillaging, to prioritize closer targets over farther targets, and to prefer to use damaged units (so they get the healing benefit).



    [BALANCE]

    Allow Wats to be purchased with Faith by Siam (instead of Universities).



    [UI]

    When pressing escape, the tech tree now uses the same close logic as hitting F6 or the close button. This was previously causing the pop-up system to fail in-game. After the error occurred, no more pop-ups would be shown until it is cleared by reloading, or by hitting "F6" multiple times. This would be most noticeable when capturing an enemy city and the player would not be able to choose to annex, puppet, or raze, as it would just annex it automatically.
    Audio sliders now move in increments in 1 (was 10) and display as a percentage. Fixed how the Slider control moves based on keyboard and scrollwheel input so that it correctly uses the WheelSteps property.
    The Declare War UI now displays whether the players have created a declaration of friendship or denounced each other. There's also now a turn counter specifying how long the Declaration of Friendship or Denouncement has left.



    [GAMEPLAY]

    Fixed a bug causing all "Victory" achievements to stop functioning for the base game and Gods and Kings.
    Fix the "Dr Livingstone" achievement.
    Fix the "Pickett's Recharge" achievement.
    Fix a bug that was causing Barbarians to not properly target civilian units.
    Fix "Greed is Good" achievement. No longer unlocks when the AI fulfills the requirements.
    Fix the Venetian Great Galleass so that it can no longer both Melee and Range attack.
    Fix cases where Cite-State units weren't being marked properly as dangerous or friendly. These could cause workers to wake up (or ignore danger) incorrectly.



    [MODDING]

    DLL connecters now link properly. Custom built DLL mods would previously not load properly (since last update).
    Fix "flibby" antiquity sites bug that can occur when using a World Builder map that has pre-defined antiquity sites.



    [EXPLOIT]

    Venice can no longer annex cities through the Strategic View.
    Venice can no longer annex cities that were previously their puppet, captured by another player, then recaptured as Venice.



    [MULTIPLAYER]

    Fix an issue that can occur when you start an MP game with AI players, and that AI meets a City-State, and if a human then joins the game and takes over that AI slot, the game prevents the human from moving into the City-State territory without declaring war.
    Allow the game to read-in custom maps from any maps directory, not just the main game maps directory.
    Unlocked the rest of the map-scripts for multiplayer play (there were some that were previously not hooked in from earlier releases) – ContinentsPlus, Donut, PangaeaPlus, Sandstorm, Highlands, Lakes, Terra.
     
  2. Tibbz

    Tibbz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    nice some good fixes.

    Was dumb that the AI would literally just sit on your citadel before and not pillage it but just sit taking damage and also fixing the absurd amount of archy's they made lol.

    Also nice to see them fix the Siam university + wat bug.
     
  3. Civking5

    Civking5 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    393
    Great news. Now lets get ready for fall patch and a DLC ;)
     
  4. modus_ataraxia

    modus_ataraxia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks, hotfix. -_-

    Spoiler :

    No more BNW for me, apparently.
     
  5. ragan651

    ragan651 High Regent of Candlewick

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    NW US
    Hmm, does verifying the game cache do anything?
     
  6. dshirk

    dshirk Firaxian

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    879
    Could you restart your client and verify you local file cache? Thanks much!
     
  7. AspyrRyan

    AspyrRyan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    About to come here to say this. Restart Steam and Verify the cache.
     
  8. glaivemaster

    glaivemaster Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    Aw, I thought the Great Galleass was supposed to be able to do that. I never even got to use it that way :(
     
  9. Socratatus

    Socratatus Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,636
    I wish they would stop wasting time with silly achievements and work on the main issues.
     
  10. Hyperion529

    Hyperion529 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    303
    me too. if this was actually a bug, it must have been a really embarrassing oversight... how can that even happen?
     
  11. Rub'Rum

    Rub'Rum Hates acronyms

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4,582
    Location:
    Québec
    I saw what appeared to be a bug in Maddjinn's India LP where, he built aqueducts, THEN unlocked the free aqueducts from the tradition social policy, and that seems to have broken them. The food goes back to zero when he grows despite having aqueducts. Um...
     
  12. PhilBowles

    PhilBowles Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5,333
     
  13. DeclanTKatt

    DeclanTKatt Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Does this update the version # of the game? I'm currently showing 1.0.3.70.... tho I can't remember the previous version.
     
  14. bdporter

    bdporter Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    248
    Yes it does. Previously it was 1.0.3.18.
     
  15. iamdanno

    iamdanno Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK, USA
    What is "flibby"?
     
  16. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    Oh so that was only the human playing Washington that could do it and not the AI so I need not have worried about that crash from an AI Washington being in the game.

    But I guess I lucked out that the city I razed in one of my games had no trade routes.

    I wonder if a side effect will be AI trying to rig a few city states again. I've not seen them try to rig a single city state in BNW.
    That Pillaging change sounds like a good one, it should make the AI somewhat more effective in its wars.

    I'm surprised this wasn't in the exploit category.

    I've never seen that achievement bug (my victory achievements worked fine); guess I was lucky.

    There was a thought on one of the threads that the Great Galless having both was intentional. In my own game as Venice, I only used ranged as I saw little point in the melee.

    That's going to make Greed is good harder to achieve for me. ;) But more seriously, have the other special civ achievements that unlock when the AI achieves them also been fixed? I remember getting the Danish one from the Danish AI getting their UU on an eligible tile.
     
  17. Socratatus

    Socratatus Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,636
    Actually not a bad patch as it fixes a few things. I always wondered why barbarians ignored citizen units. Also the extra info when about to start a potential war is crucially useful. No one wants to start a war without really knowing his political situation first.

    Would`ve liked more AI improvements, but it`ll do for now. Cheers.
     
  18. Teadrinker

    Teadrinker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Finally!
     
  19. Barathor

    Barathor Emperor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,202
    Wow, lots of nice fixes!

    Thanks, Firaxis! :goodjob:

    Edit: Whoa, I didn't even notice that one until I saw your post above mine, Teadrinker! Very cool!
     
  20. Ninakoru

    Ninakoru A deity on Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain, Europe
    Well, is always nice to fix bugs but my priority is some game balance fixes.

    I have a bug that shows a looping attack animation when a plane attacks a carrier (over 20 seconds attacking in circles). It's just me?
     

Share This Page