1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] Hotkeys! 1.3.1

Adds missing hotkeys, along with new functions to help declutter the map

  1. heinous_hat

    heinous_hat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    under the weather
    heinous_hat submitted a new resource:

    Hotkeys! methods and discussion - Hotkeys! methods and discussion

    Read more about this resource...
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2016
    CivFanMUC, Nutty, Daft73 and 2 others like this.
  2. heinous_hat

    heinous_hat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    under the weather
    I think I may need to walk back the statement I made about the yield icon display... it's working reasonably fast now. Something caused a big delay while I was testing it initially.
     
  3. stebobibo

    stebobibo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Thanks for this great mod! Was sorely needed, especially the yield icon hotkey.
     
  4. heinous_hat

    heinous_hat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    under the weather
    Thanks :)
    Currently trying to add a key to switch camera tilt. You can alter the tilt in the camera config, but then you're stuck with that angle. I'd like an on-demand, top-down view.
     
  5. Olleus

    Olleus Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,472
    Location:
    England
    This looks superb. I agree that a fortify until healed key is essential as one. I'd also like a "centre on active unit" key. Considering the mess that the autojump between units is, that one leaves me angry
     
  6. heinous_hat

    heinous_hat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    under the weather
    I turn off auto cycling and put <enter> on the middle mouse button. That lets me flip from unit to unit manually, and eventually end turn with the same button.

    I would like a key to center on the capital, though. Too often, the camera is stranded in some far flung area after you've given orders to all of your units... you have to either drag the map all the way home, or find it on the minimap.
     
  7. heinous_hat

    heinous_hat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    under the weather
    Converted the thread to a resource, since the mod has been working without issues.

    No new key functions for now. I'll repackage this in proper mod format after a bit of QA.
     
  8. rawrkitty

    rawrkitty Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Thank you for this! - is it possible to restore the hotkey to Strategic View? it was F10 in C5 - if you could add that into this mod i'd really love that, or any hotkey for strat view, thanks!
     
  9. heinous_hat

    heinous_hat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    under the weather
    I think I looked for this function briefly and didn't find it. I'll have another go at it... it would make a good hotkey.
     
    Daft73 likes this.
  10. mice

    mice Moose

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180
    Location:
    tundra
    Best mod ever . I use it every turn to sort things out .
     
  11. heinous_hat

    heinous_hat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    under the weather
    heinous_hat updated Hotkeys! with a new update entry:

    Hotkeys! 1.1

    Read the rest of this update entry...
     
  12. heinous_hat

    heinous_hat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    under the weather
  13. Klazart

    Klazart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Would be great to have hotkeys not only for healing but also for moving units. Especially if we could actually change the bindings in some kind of UI? Also builder actions that used to be hotkeyed would be fantastic. Bombarding with archers/ships etc? Thanks a mill!
     
  14. heinous_hat

    heinous_hat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    under the weather
    Well, for the first time ever, we actually do have a GUI driven keybinding mechanism in game. Unfortunately it's missing quite a number of traditional functions. I haven't really looked at how it works or whether it's possible to add more keys/functions and get them into the menu. Given that they made the effort though, I would expect to see this expanded at some point.

    Attack, ranged attack, fortify and sleep are assignable... take a look in game options -> keybindings. Heal is missing, along with the new sentry action and any specific builder action.
     
    Klazart likes this.
  15. camomilk

    camomilk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Would it be possible to get a hotkey for the city ranged attack? That little red button is pretty hard to click sometimes.
     
  16. heinous_hat

    heinous_hat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    under the weather
    I don't know about a key, but I had thought to fix that by removing the centering (which makes you have to click twice).

    Just realized I have the resource toggle keyed to R, which is their default for Ranged Attack. Is that a new addition with this patch? I don't remember it and only noticed when I answered Klazart's question.

    I'll see if I can switch to ctrl-R. In the meantime, if you want the ranged attack key, just change their default in Keybindings.
     
  17. camomilk

    camomilk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Civ 6 has used R for ranged attacks since it came out. Civ 5 used to use B.
     
  18. Klazart

    Klazart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the info! It's a step in the right direction at least. I can't believe such BASIC functionality was missing from the released game. I think from now I will not buy any more Civ games or Firaxes game till 1 year post release. Because you want to play the new game but if it's so broken and incomplete that spoils all the fun of it.
     
  19. babaka001

    babaka001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Old civer new to Civ 6; thanks so much!! Works like a charm, and what clean and documented code!
     
  20. bostonbongrips

    bostonbongrips Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago
    I absolutely love this mod, thanks for uploading. Is there a way to add a hot key to remove city borders?

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop