1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How Can I Declare War On My Vassal?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Cervus, Oct 23, 2006.

  1. Cervus

    Cervus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Japan
    The situation is as follows:

    - I am on one continent with the only other civilization on it being my vassal.

    - The largest opponent occupies another continent.

    - To win by domination I need to either conquer my entire continent or sail to the other one to try to overcome that large opponent.

    - It would be easier to finish my vassal, however I cannot find a way to declare war on him. Whatever I request from him, he gives without a word.

    Any advice? Thank you.
     
  2. Gen.Rommel

    Gen.Rommel Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Dearborn, Michigan
    There isnt a way to do that, he has to break his vassalage with you.
     
  3. IdiotWind

    IdiotWind Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    You're stuck with him until he decides to call it off, gotta think v careful before you make someone yr vassal. if you know you're gonna have to take them down for a domination win at some future point then steer clear

    you might as well bite the bullet and go for the other guy with yr lackey in tow....

    you can order yr vassal to attack specific enemy cities, which is kinda cool
     
  4. cymru_man

    cymru_man Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    UK
    The vassal's territory/population is already counting towards your domination win, conquering him would achieve nothing. And you can't declare war, that's the whole point.
     
  5. Stylesrj

    Stylesrj Tabitha SEAL

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,311
    Location:
    New LA, Planet Mira
    Only HALF of the Vassal's assets count towards your victory. So conquering him gives you the other half...
     
  6. Mad2rix

    Mad2rix Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Japan
    The vassal bug was fixed in a new patch so someone should teach the newbies how to declare war on their slaves.
     
  7. Captain Crunch

    Captain Crunch Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    I have seen 2 ways to convince a vassal to break it off with you.

    1. Surround its last city with your culture. I have seen it compel the vassal to break off its agreement with you.
    2. Go to war with a stronger enemy if the vassal likes the enemy more than you it will break it off and say something like "you are too weak to protect us"
     
  8. Barney's_Soul

    Barney's_Soul Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    205
    Not true, that only happens if the enemy takes the vassel's cities, and in consequnce the vassel has 50% less land then when he vassilized/capilitaed, so he will automaticly break the deal.

    Yeah so anyway, you gotta attack the other guy, at least your vassel will help you.
     
  9. AfterShafter

    AfterShafter Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,057
    Location:
    World's largest lentil producer
    Oh? Perhaps you could.
     
  10. Tatran

    Tatran Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    4,184
    Demand something from your vassal.
    If he/she refuses, maybe you can declare war.

    Or, if he/she's friendly (not caputilation) make him/her
    less friendly by switching religion and/or civics.
     
  11. Meatbuster

    Meatbuster formerly Robo Kai

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,302
    Location:
    Philippines
    I tried that, but I find AI vassals tend to never refuse unless it's the second demand of the turn (when you no longer get the war option).
     
  12. automator

    automator King

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    Northwest USA
    I got my first vassals in last game. I didn't fully understand capitulation when I accepted it from two civs who I'd beaten away from my continent. (They each found tiny desert islands for themselves.) So I couldn't even demand anything from them! Each of them had one crappy little city. Even when I was warring with bigger civs, the bigger civ wouldn't destroy my vassals. So there was no way for me to get a conquest victory, since I couldn't declare on two civs who wouldn't break away from me. Grrr. Oh, and I tried to anger them. I wasn't giving them anything, I was picking fights all over, demanding big cash payments every couple turns ...
     
  13. cymru_man

    cymru_man Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    UK
    If the only civs left alive are your vassals, it's a conquest victory.
     
  14. Stylesjl

    Stylesjl SOS Brigade Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3,698
    Location:
    Australia
    What bug? You still can't go to war with your vassals
     
  15. gavril

    gavril Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    I like playing until i am the only on the map so i can build my perfect world of only one colour.
    My vassal's respect for me was "-58". He had reasons... Even so he fulfilled all my requests.

    So i:
    -gave him all the cities that wanted to join him.
    -destroyed all my military units but one machinegun in each city
    -made a request he wouldn't fulfill. that meant war.

    considering my huge superiority in techs and building capacity, in 6 turns i managed to build the military units and take over all his cities.
     
  16. wannabewarlord

    wannabewarlord Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    Switzerland
    is it? I am pretty sure my last game declared a domination victory after I had all my enemies as my vassals. I could be wrong though
     
  17. CCRunner

    CCRunner Deity

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,132
    You could always just use worldbuilder auto-declare.


    If that last vassal gave you enough land to put you over the domination threshold then you win domination. Otherwise, you win conquest.
     
  18. Lord Meire

    Lord Meire Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Oregon,US
    world builder.
     
  19. chasewa

    chasewa Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I have a vassal by capitulation in MP in a pit-boss game. They stopped playing, so they are completely useless. I cant trade/communicate/order them to do anything. I wish I wouldnt have made him my vassal. The admin cant even switch him to AI in the pitboss settings.

    Anything I can do here?
     
  20. Joshua368

    Joshua368 Warmongering builder

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,072
    I have won a Conquest victory by having the last guy capitulate, even though he simutaniously pushed my land/pop over the limit.
     

Share This Page