How can I edit the domination victory condition?

Benkyo

Chieftain
I know this should be really simple, but I have no experience modifying Civ and I'm not sure which .xml files to be looking for.

My problem is this: I like large, low sea level maps for the exploration and room for AI empire growth. I hate large maps because of the amount of time required to conquer >51% of the available land mass even after it's all a foregone conclusion.

What I want to do is: Edit the victory conditions so that having ~30% of the land mass and population AND the top score gives a domination victory.

Can anyone help me out?

Thanks,

While I'm at it, I can't find any way to mod down the starting settler's movement to the regular 2.

I don't like the way you can effectively settle so far from your themed starting point with a move of 4, and advanced start seems biased towards +pop+culture setups, as well as limiting the AI's starting advantage, so I need a solution!

Cheers,

I dunno about victory conditions. I suspect the code for them is in the .dll

As for the extra settler movement, they start with a new promotion that gives the +2 move and sight. Remove/edit that promotion and away goes the starting settler bonus.

Thanks! The settlers are sorted, now I just need a victory condition that doesn't force me to quit every game in which I have an unbeatable lead and 100+ turns of grinding to 'win'.

In fact, regardless of whether or not a domination fix is possible this is probably my number 1 FFH feature request:

Please, someone, implement a 'quick win' checkbox that lowers the requirements for ALL the victory conditions except conquest. Less culture, less landmass, less religion (probably have to disable that one), fewer nodes per tower, lower tech requirements and/or more buildable altar steps. Tying any or all of these to a 'highest score' requirement could help prevent abuse, perhaps?