How can I make a land unit walk on sea tiles?

Lonkut

..--""--..
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
862
Location
......
Is there a way to make only one type of land unit to walk on coast, sea, and ocean tiles?
 

Theoden

Deity
GOTM Staff
Joined
Sep 17, 2003
Messages
2,569
Location
Denmark
There is no way other than changing it to be a sea unit, but i assume you want it to be walking on both land and water.
 

Louis XXIV

Le Roi Soleil
Joined
Mar 12, 2003
Messages
13,579
Location
Norfolk, VA
The only way I can think of is to make a special type of land terrain that looks like water, and make it impassible to wheeled units. Than make every unit except for one "Wheeled" (you'd also have to remove the wheeled flag for jungle and mountains).
 

Abaddon

Deity
Joined
Apr 20, 2002
Messages
31,182
Location
NES/FG/SF Activity:Arguing the toss
what would be wrong with it just thinking its a plane or something?
 

Neomega

Deity
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
11,261
Yes, but the Ai will not be able to use it. Make a unit air, but do not give it the immobile flag, and if there is anything else, I don't remember it.... but I do remember making hovercraft for my mod about 2 years ago. I pulled them due to AI being completley unable to use them.
 

FinnMcCool

Crazy in the right way...
Joined
Nov 12, 2004
Messages
608
Location
Walla Walla Washington (really)
Like the "Ground-Effect-Vehicle" (GEV) of Steve Jackson's microgame, Ogre. Great ideas. Military hovercraft... :cool:
 

WildWeazel

Carthago Creanda Est
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
7,247
Location
%CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
Air units can't defend themselves from land/sea units, so your unit would be practically useless unless you want to escort it everywhere (which would be hard, considering you would need both land and sea units).
An alternate is to make it a land unit and give it a small operarational range and whatever air missions you want it to have, so that it could bombard ships, scout out sea tiles, etc.

So, Finn, you may want to reconsider your lottery request... a LOTM unit instead perhaps... ;)
 

Kidsmart1981

Chieftain
Joined
Jul 8, 2003
Messages
21
Location
Viet Nam
I've made a "real helicopter"...it's fun. But, the Civ's AI never make any units like that. The Civ's AI does not support(full support) this unit!
Hope, will get "real helicopter" in Civ4!
 

Louis XXIV

Le Roi Soleil
Joined
Mar 12, 2003
Messages
13,579
Location
Norfolk, VA
In many ways, I like the Civ3 helicopter. Helicopters can't really exist away from base indefinately. Here is what I would have done to improve it, though.

1. Allow it to pick up units (simple suggestion to give a helicopter more of a use).
2. Allow the creation of Attack Helicopters using the C3C "Stealth Attack" feature. Helicopters can fly over the heads of enemy troops and be much more precise in their targets. They were dispised by the Vietnamese army because they could shoot from above, negating what defenses they created. Also, in Operation Iraqi Freedom, Apaches were used at one point to minimize non-combatant casualties. For the negative side, they should be rediculously easy to shoot down for anyone who has some kind of AA).
 

Hrafnkell

Alheithinn
Joined
Oct 3, 2004
Messages
788
Location
The Beltway
Definitely this is another one of those many limitations Civ imposes on us. It is frustrating knowing what you want to do, and knowing that what you want to do is realistic, but the game's design is very restrictive. I hope Civ4 "fixes" some of these problems. For now, the full mod-support they are promising gives me hope.

I agree wholeheartedly, Louis XXIV, on helicopters picking up units - how can you have air cavalry without that ability? In Vietnam, that was the original reason for their deployment.
 
Top Bottom