1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How concerned should I be over Spectre and Meltdown?

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Disgustipated, Jan 4, 2018.

  1. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,212
    Location:
    Las Vegas
  2. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    Canada
    https://meltdownattack.com/#faq-affected

    Q: "Am I affected by the bug?"
    A: "Most certainly, yes."

    Yes.

    Not really a problem as long as the tablet is still getting updated with the monthly security patches Google puts out.

    If you have to ask, you're almost certainly not going to notice any performance difference.

    If you're not a cloud service provider, and keep automatic updates enabled, not at all.
     
  3. JaymesKeller

    JaymesKeller Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    You shouldn't. Just keep your software updated, be aware of what you download and protect yourself against rouge JS stuff, and you should be fine. As a side note, dealing with people in IT sometimes is worse than herding cats.
     
  4. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,212
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    My main concern is the Foxnews article said you need a software fix and a firmware update. I don't actually have a PC manufacturer that I can contact since my PC is built by me. Maybe Intel website would have something.
     
  5. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    Canada
  6. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,212
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Okay, I feel dumb. I just realized I've been using AMD processor, not Intel. I've been running with the same computer for so long, I had forgotten.

    I'm concerned about Windows 10 most recent patch though, it's causing some weird issues like my mouse clicks aren't registering. I just got a patch this morning. Sometimes takes two clicks to get where I need, may be a browser problem though with Chrome. I'm having memory problems with Chrome anyways (not as bad as my Firefox problems though), I have a feeling Microsoft is subtlely forcing me to use Edge.
     
  7. leif erikson

    leif erikson Game of the Month Fanatic Administrator Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    26,421
    Location:
    Plymouth, MA
  8. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    Canada
    That sounds like a hardware issues with your mouse.
     

Share This Page