1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice

How did everyone download the religion and revolution mod and make it work?

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Creation & Customization' started by Too Ton, Oct 3, 2015.

  1. Too Ton

    Too Ton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    I clicked on the link, entered the code, and then downloaded the file.

    I got a "Religion_and_Revolution" folder and stuffed that into my MODS folder next to my TAC folder in MODS. Only TAC shows up to play a MOD though. Help?
     
  2. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,858
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Actually, that is the way to do it.

    Just to make sure: your "Mods" folder is in Col's installation folder? That is, where I have put it, although people say there is the option to put it into "My Games" or so...
     
  3. Too Ton

    Too Ton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    It is in my col install folder. I can play tac but NOT r&r
     
  4. Too Ton

    Too Ton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    I solved the problem. The MODS folder I had was a fake. . . (I did something wrong).
     
  5. Nightinggale

    Nightinggale Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,977
    Both destinations work, though both can result in problems.

    • The installation folder can have write permission problems if it is in program files. Usually the game will work, but svn/git fail to update.
    • The MODS folder in My Documents will cause issues if certain characters are in the full path and the windows username is included in that part. Standard English characters can be used, but not non-English. Ü fails while U works.
    The safest solution is to install the game outside program files, like in C:\games, but steam will not let you do that.
     
  6. ConjurerDragon

    ConjurerDragon King Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    634
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rhineland-Palatinate
    I unzipped R&R to the MyGames folder of Colonization, however no shortcut for the desktop was created like for TAC.
    However I could start it by starting TAC and then using the load a mod option.

    Is there a way to create a shortcut on the desktop for R&R too?
     
  7. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8,490
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Of course there is a way to create a shortcut for RaR. :)
    (Otherwise TAC could not do it either.)

    It is done like always in Windows.
    (You just give the exe an additional parameter for the mod.)

    We had given a guide several times already.
    (But I admit it is a bit tedious to search our forum for such a post.)

    A beginner's guide:

    1. Create a Shortcut from Colonization.exe
    (EXE can be found in Install Directory of Civ4Col, Right Click, Choose "Create Shortcut")

    2. Right click the newly created shortcut and select "Properties".
    (Or whatever it is called in your mother language. In German it is "Eigenschaften".)

    3. Edit the "Target" Property.
    (In German it says "Ziel".)

    Add a parameter with the exact name of the RaR mod folder (as it is in your mods folder) to it.
    It should read something like this:
    Code:
    mod="\Religion_and_Revolution"
    
    It should read first something like:
    Code:
    C:\games\Colonization\Colonization.exe
    
    After you edited it should read something like:
    Code:
    C:\games\Colonization\Colonization.exe mod="\Religion_and_Revolution"
    
    4. Rename and Change the Icon of the Shortcut to whatever you like.

    If you want to use our "official" RaR icon for the shortcut:
    RaR_desktop_icon can be found in the mod folder of RaR.

    5. Now simply always start RaR with the new shortcut.

    It is a lot faster to load RaR like this instead of first loading Vanilla.
    (Of course creating shortcuts like this works for all Mods of Civ4Col or Civ4.)
     
    ConjurerDragon likes this.
  8. Nightinggale

    Nightinggale Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,977
    It's much faster to make the shortcut by copying an existing one and then edit properties to change which mod it opens (mod=new mod). This way you don't have to even consider where the exe is. The rest of the stuff (name, icon etc) is still the same as ray says.
     
  9. ConjurerDragon

    ConjurerDragon King Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    634
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rhineland-Palatinate
    I abused the TAC shortcut according to your suggestion and just had to copy and paste raystuttgart´s code line with the exact name of the R&R mod and it works. :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page