1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

How Did This City Grow so Fast ?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Old&Slow, Jan 8, 2004.

  1. Old&Slow

    Old&Slow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    AI City sitting on a Flood Plain, it grew from a size 3 to 7 in about 12 turns. No other settler units added either.

    No improvements or city buildings and has a Pop of 280,000+ :eek:

    Never worked like that for me....
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Goober

    Goober Turning Right ...

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,143
    Location:
    Victoria, BC, CANADA!!!
    You must be in a Golden Age, because those tiles are producing 3 food, when they usually produce 2. The land does not look irrigated or railroaded which would explain it. All cities have the potential to grow this fast. and it would grow much faster with a granary, until you needed to build a Hospital. My questions is: How did it grow past size 6 without an Aqueduct? And I assume that it cannot grow past size 12 without a Hospital, unless you have modded this.
     
  3. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,395
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    Floodplains. Lots of food. Starting at Size 3, they were getting twelve food each turn! They were growing at a rate of one Pop every other turn! :eek:
     
  4. NewbieHere

    NewbieHere Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario
    It's beside a river ;)
     
  5. sealman

    sealman Hater of Babylonians

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,326
    Location:
    Manassas, VA
    and that is why it did not need an aqueduct.
     
  6. ybbor

    ybbor Will not change his avata

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,773
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    and in republic to get rid of the tile penalty
     
  7. Daarkseid

    Daarkseid Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    I want some Tacos.
    Yeah, taking all of that into account(and add to the fact this is a dutch city that is producing one extra food on its city tile), that city was producing twice its needed food when it was at 3 population points. Easily explainable. I doubt it will grow very quickly now, since it will require more food to grow, and not nearly enough floodplains to maintain its growth rate.
     
  8. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,395
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    Agreed, Daarkseid. With 7 citizens, and producing 15 food, it has only one left to go toward growth. And with only 1 shield per turn production, it will be a long time before it can make any "happy" buildings to help get rid of those Entertainers and put them to work. ;)
     
  9. Black Waltz

    Black Waltz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    569
    Agricultural Civs also produce more food on desert tiles if the tiles are irigated then other Civs.
     
  10. Qitai

    Qitai .

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,177
    Location:
    SG.MY.TW.US
    RealGoober> GA Adds only shield and trade, not food. You don't need an aqueduct to grow to size 12 when you have access to fresh water - i.e. lake or river.

    At size 3, it produces 12 food and eats 6 food, so there is 6 excess food. I assume you have food storage to start with and it grows the next turn.

    At size 4, it produces 15 food and eats 8 with excess of 7. So it will grow in 3 turn.

    At size 5, it produces 18 food and eats 10 with excess of 8. It will again grow in 3 turn.

    At size 6, it can only still produce 18 food due to only having 5 flood plain tiles and will eat 10 food. So, the excess is 6. You grow in 4 turns.

    So, 1+3+3+4 = 11. You grow 4 pop in 12 turns.
     
  11. Master_Debater

    Master_Debater Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    civ
    Golden Age theory's out because it doesn't add a food tile
     
  12. Old&Slow

    Old&Slow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Appreciate all the reply`s :) Really learned a great deal on city growth and it`s relationship to terrain tiles.

    To be clear it`s an AI Civ city, not mine.

    Altough I`m surprised it didn`t get " sickness " and knock down the POP since it`s on a Flood Plain.
     
  13. Goober

    Goober Turning Right ...

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,143
    Location:
    Victoria, BC, CANADA!!!
    Ah-ha, you learn new things everyday. I was wondering why some cities randomly grow past Size 6, this makes that make sense. And it is interesting to note that Disease hasn't taken down the citie's population.
     
  14. Nihilist

    Nihilist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    The risk of disease seems less than most people think. In fact, in my current game I've had about 6 cities on Floodplains since the Ancient Age, have since reached Sanitation and in all that time did not experience disease a single time. Floodplains are a most excellent terrain. :worship: Either that or I'm just lucky.

    Incidentally, one of my cities is size 25 now and still growing every 2 turns! :goodjob:
     

Share This Page