1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How do decrease "End Game" turn waits?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by BrendanVI, Oct 31, 2016.

  1. BrendanVI

    BrendanVI Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    I am playing huge map. I have one complete continent and on the other continent there are 4 or 5 civilizations left...about ten city states left. I am wondering how to speed up the turn times. What component do I need to upgrade on the computer for this to happen?

    4.0 GHz AMD 3
    16 gigs ram
    GF GTX 1060 3 GBS
    WIN 10

    Changing the Graphics in Game, what is the difference between "memory" and "performance"? does increasing memory by decreasing a slider make the turns quicker?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. civplay

    civplay Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    play smaller map or kill them faster. I've tried doing all the graphics stuff, I don't even think most of the time is spent processing, more just waiting for the computer to go. every unit accross the huge continents is a second of animation right? so 4/5 civs left plus barbs, thats a lot of units and a lot of cities.
     
  3. BrendanVI

    BrendanVI Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    i read an old forum post, saying that if you switch to strategic view before the end turn, it may go faster...i am curious to try it, but my new machine is now in the shop....thanks to AI suite III....
    thanks for the tips,
     
  4. BrendanVI

    BrendanVI Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    hmmmm, i wonder if turning off animated moves will speed it up..
     
  5. God of Kings

    God of Kings Ruler of all heads of state

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,345
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    There's a third method, but it would require real life currency.
     
  6. TruthfulCake

    TruthfulCake Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    363
    Turning on Quick Movement and Quick Attack Animation is absolutely mandatory if you want to shorten turn times.
     
  7. esoba

    esoba Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    This is absolutely true and makes a noticeable difference. After the first game quick movement and quick attack was on and will remain on until Civ VII comes out. However, I'm still wishing for another 25%-50% decrease in turn times for late games on huge maps. Does anyone think switching to an SSD would matter for turn times? I know it would for loading, but would it for the other?
     
  8. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    no, if you want faster turn times you need a better CPU
     
    valamas likes this.
  9. esoba

    esoba Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    That's what I figured. Sadly I already have a top tier CPU, so I would spend a great deal for a marginal increase in performance. Maybe a future mod or patch will help with the turn times.
     
  10. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11,319
    It also helps to limit what else is running as they all get fair share of CPU unless you tweak it.
     
  11. stiiknafuulia

    stiiknafuulia King

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    603
    On the Giant and Ludicrous map sizes that are added by Gedemon's mod, the turn times improve dramatically if you disable barbarians. I'm not sure if this only applies to the Earth map though, or regular maps as well. Anyway, it's worth a try, even though the effect will be less with the game's regular map sizes.
     
  12. Hajee

    Hajee Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    342
    1) C:\Users\....\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization VI - Open the User options and Find any line that has AI Logging
    ;Log all AI systems
    ;AI city build plot analysis logging level
    ;AI settlement analysis logging level (very large)
    ;AI diplomatic action logging level

    Turn those to 0 instead of 1. The game will create about a dozen cvs files while you playing logging tons of info. You can turn off the AI off however I can not find the other turn off log files, but this should help a-bit.

    2) As mentioned Quick Moves and Quick Combat help.

    3) Wait for the DX12.exe. Dx12 should help the cpu use more processors by spreading the usage to more cores

    4) Limit the usage of auto saving. When you are deep in game the auto saving every turn this could increase turn time by a few secs. So save every 20 turns or so
     
    esoba likes this.
  13. Roller123

    Roller123 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    589
    here is the source of the problem
     
  14. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,262
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I finally bit the bullet and enabled quick movement, it has significantly decreased turn times. I still don't like quick movement all that much, but it stays on for now.
     
  15. esoba

    esoba Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Thank you for this. I'll be changing the AI logging and auto-saves. Just no word on Dx12 though.

    and this isn't helpful
     
  16. Hajee

    Hajee Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    342
    No word on the release of dx12 however it was updated 4 days ago here

    https://steamdb.info/app/289070/history/
     
  17. esoba

    esoba Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    So there is hope for a release soon? I hope so because I think it could make a world of difference. Especially in combination with the other things.
     
  18. TheXMassTeam

    TheXMassTeam Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    I'm cooking, cleaning the house, washing clothes ... when I play Civ's late game, since the 2. So I didn't lost too many time :) The only problems are : when the diplo. screen pop up and that some days I didn't play much more than 10 turns :p
     
  19. CDegeyter

    CDegeyter Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Lafayette, LA USA
    I find that clicking the button to go from World view to Strategic view speeds up the AI turns for me. However I do still have my kindle ready during the very late game.
     
  20. esoba

    esoba Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Another good suggestion. Lol, have to micromanage turns to decrease time between.
     

Share This Page