1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

How do I get FfH2 to work?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Fall from Heaven' started by HouseLyrander, Apr 5, 2015.

  1. HouseLyrander

    HouseLyrander Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    I've been trying and trying to get this to work with my Steam copy to no avail. I put the mod in the right folder, but that didn't work. I downloaded Patch O but still nothing. I even downgraded my copy to the retail version and I'm still not getting jack. I've checked to make sure I have the 3.19 build and I do. What am I doing wrong?

    For the record, I'm using the Steam version on a Windows 8.1 laptop and the mods are in "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\sid meier's civilization iv beyond the sword\Beyond the Sword\Mods". I'm also pretty sure I've done everything with Admin Privileges in case that matters.
     
  2. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,827
    Do you have any other mods installed? Do they work? If so, compare the path you have to that in which they are installed. I am not familiar with steam or windows 8, but this is some basic debugging I can recommend. If that is all fine, I suggest you check for double foldering. Basically, when you unzip the file you might get a result where instead of having a folder structure looking like this: "Fall From Heaven 2/various mod files" you get "Fall From Heaven 2/Fall From Heaven 2/various mod files". Removing one layer fixes things.
     
  3. Bill Bisco

    Bill Bisco Callous Calling

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    590
    What the guy above said. Assuming the other mods work with bts fine, you could always cut and paste the ffh mod from somewhere else directly in.
     
  4. Bad Player

    Bad Player Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    (Bris)Vegas!
    I've got FFH2 to work via Steam by installing Civ4 bts normally and then installing FFH2 and finally copying the FFH2 folder across to the Steam copy of Civ 4 bts.
    ie I have 2 copies of bts and FFH2 on my computer.
     
  5. HouseLyrander

    HouseLyrander Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    I have no other mods installed except for the ones that come standard. I've checked for double foldering and that seems to not be the case.

    Do you know where the original location is? Because now when I try to install, it paths to the Steam folders I put it in. Although from what I hear on the Steam forums, that's the only location that's supposed to matter.
     
  6. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,314
    Did you actually install the mod? I'm not being flippant or facetious: the file you download isn't the mod, but rather the installer for the mod. You have to run that program to install the mod itself, and it should install in the correct location. Same with patch o, what you download is the installer, which you have to run for the patch to be installed.

    You said that the only mods you had installed were those that came with the game, so I figured we should at least consider the possibility.

    If you've done that, then I don't know what the problem is, sorry.
     
  7. HouseLyrander

    HouseLyrander Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Yup, I used the installer and rerouted the location to the Steam folder for BTS's mods
     
  8. Bad Player

    Bad Player Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    (Bris)Vegas!
    Original installation pathway is c:\Program Files (x86)\2K Games\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4 Complete\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Fall from Heaven 2

    I have the DVD which installs Civ4 bts there and then I installed the FFH2, Sound pack, FFH2 patch o, MNAI. Then copied the FFH2 folder over to Steam.
     
  9. HouseLyrander

    HouseLyrander Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnope. I've even tried installing Patch O, and still nothing. Then again, I don't have that DVD and never will.
     
  10. Bad Player

    Bad Player Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    (Bris)Vegas!
    So you've installed Civ4 bts (Steam), then the main FFH2 file (from the FFH2 bug thread), then the media pack, then patch 'o'. Did that much work?
     
  11. Bill Bisco

    Bill Bisco Callous Calling

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    590
    Post screenshots of your folder system please and the errors you're getting. I suspect this is an easy fix.
     
  12. HouseLyrander

    HouseLyrander Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Sorry, but I don't know how to do screenshots and I haven't been getting error messages. BTS just straight up isn't listing FfH2 as an option when I go to Load Mods. Is there a way to load FfH2 directly?

    Also, BadPlayer, what's this Media Pack you keep talking about? I'm pretty sure all of the assets are included in the mod and patch o.

    EDIT: Nevermind, apparently the place I was downloading from didn't include the Media Pack among its links because... I don't know why. I've gone to the official website and found the media pack now and the game works now. Thanks everyone for your help.

    EDIT2: Nope, just a fake out. The mod loads, but it doesn't do anything. I'm still stuck with standard BtS content.

    EDIT3: Deleted and reinstalled everything, it works now. *shrugs* Thanks again for the help folks.
     
  13. Bad Player

    Bad Player Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    (Bris)Vegas!
    I downloaded everything from the FFH2 bug thread in this forum btw
     
  14. omegaflames

    omegaflames Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    On the non steam install I know I don't actually have FFH2 listed in my mods list when running BTS. I have a shortcut with a target of "C:\Program Files (x86)\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Civ4BeyondSword.exe" mod=\Fall from Heaven 2

    and a start in of "C:\Program Files (x86)\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods"

    I believe this shortcut got created when you install FFH2 and is always how I've started the mod.
     

Share This Page